Thrift consumes me.


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
February 13th 2008
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I ventured to the main train station to find the big thrift store. I got there and could not for the life of me find it. Literally...if a man came up to me and said 'find this thrift store or I will take your life', I would simply say, 'if you must'. So I took out my little vodafone telephone and called Liz, because I knew she had gone to the thrift store before. I suddenly found it, after following her precise directions and thought it was the coolest thing ever. There were rows and rows of old clothes, including helmets, roller skates, scarfs, pants, and weird-ass shirts which I could not even tell how they would possibly fit a human. After lots of searching, and trying on sweaters, I decided to buy a pair of green pants, a brown sweater vest-thing, and a pink scarf headband. It only cost me about five dollars for all three so I was content. I have mixed feelings on thrift stores really- on one hand it is pretty awesome that you can buy a couple pieces of clothing for a cheap-ass price, but at the same time, lordy knows who the heck was wearing these clothes before you. I mean, were they washed before they were given to the store? Was a sweaty woman wearing my beautiful new sweater? It was funny because I saw a man take off his pants, in his tight boxers, to try on a pair of pants, because there is no dressing room, just mirrors. I was going to buy a 'san francisco' sweatshirt but then I was like 'what would be the point of that?' It was pretty funny- Imagine if I bought this san francisco sweatshirt and brought it home to America. Can you imagine how embarassing that would be!

So after the thrift store, I arrived to CIEE headquarters located in the ancient Vysherad, home to a church and cemetary! I had czech class with a really cool guy, Ludek, as our professor. Before class he asks if anyone has any questions about Czech language or just questions in general, which I personally think is really funny. Then after class, I went to the computer lab if I remember correctly. Yes, that's right...now I'm beginning to remember. It was a cloudly day out- no not cloudy, just not sunny. Yes that's right. I don't really remember what else happened until 7:00pm when I went to the CIEE dorms to watch a movie called "Czech Dream" which I did not like too much. I will tell you what exactly it is about- two FAMU film students, for their final project, posed as managers and advertised this big supermarket that would soon open. However, after getting about 1,500 people into a meadow the opening day, they said they was no supermarket and all these Czech people were disappointed or confused or upset. A few of them were happy because it was such a sunny day out and they got to go outside- but at the same time, there were elderly people and handicapped people who were tricked into walking across a meadow for nothing. Poor people. I guess it is interesting though that all these people believed these advertisements that technically didn't say there was a supermarket.

On another note- I am gaining some chub. I'll admit it, I like my desert food. Actually I like all the food here. I made a grilled cheese-like sandwhich to take with me for lunch yesterday and I was planning to wrap it up in saran wrap, but it looked so good that I ate it before I left the house! It was so good.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb