Thanks! This one is for you!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Old Town
January 16th 2014
Published: January 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

We were on one of those picturesque tram going back to the old town. There is something special about Prague. It is always full of tourists, but no matter how full the streets are, I feel alone in the world. Prague makes you wonder. I have to admit, I was the weird kid who dreamed of castle, dragons, cavaliers and Robin hood while every other kids were dreaming of being a member of Nsync or a football star. I always wondered how was life back then. I am not going to make a lot of friends back home (I probably already pissed you all off all with my Nsync comments), but I kind of like Queens and Kings. I understand all the good arguments against royalty, mostly the economic ones, but I think it is charming, lovely ... kind off. Well, what I mean to say, is that Prague is a special place.

Today was a special day, we were meeting up with two awesome girls we met two years ago in Corfu. One of them, I haven't seen since then. I traveled for a very long time and met loads of great people, most I would like to see again. That being said, we all did it right? You know, as you were about to leave a hostel after a few days with a new friend, you look at each other, promise to talk visit soon, exchange details and made sure you were Facebook friends before you get on the bus. Don't deny it. I know you all did it! I sure did it a million times and why not, honestly, traveling is all about meeting new people and sharing views, habits and knowledge. That all being said, I have seen only a handful of those great people and most of them I met at the Pink Palace in Corfu. That place too was very special. It was a few days of complete nonsense. We were all stock in some American teen movies, but it really made us realize how great life was. We all tend to forget it, but life could be much simpler that we make it be. Besides all the drinking and the naked cliff jumping, there were moments, like that night a couple bottles of wine in hands we were all on the beach staring at the dark sea in front of us, waiting for the sun to rise and making the most of what was there, at that very moment. It might sound cheesy to a lot of us, but that are the small moments that make me feel special. I am lucky enough to have those guys as close friends now and to be able to see two great girls at least once a year.

We were supposed to meet in front of the Charles Bridge. First thing I have to say about that bridge, it's beautiful. It is one of my favorite attractions in the world. The Czech started building it in the 1300 and it wasn't completed before the beginning the 15th century. It is a Stone bridge connecting the Old town and the Lesser Quarter. It is full of beautiful statues, artist stands and street vendors. The second and last thing I have to say about the bridge, is that it is full of bloody tourist. Finding someone in this sea of people is nearly impossible, even more when they are not waiting for you on the right side of the bridge. I can't remember how we found them, but we did. We did exactly what normal people do
when they have to catch up, we went to an Irish pub. Yes! An Irish pub in Prague. There are two and we shamelessly went to both that night. I know, Czech Republic produced some of the best beer in the world and I am a huge fan of it, but I kind of have a talent at finding Irish pub, it probably has something to do with my blood.

***

We were walking back towards the Charles Bridge. The girls had to drive back to Germany that night. We wanted to walk the beautiful Praha streets and get a few last drink before chariot turned to a pumpkin. I am not the best at dealing with those moments. I am a pretty nostalgic dude. We took an entire street, not caring about anyone on our path. We stopped by the Astronomical clock. There was again a bunch of tourist looking at it. Most local, think it is just a crappy old clock. I personally love it. In front of it, there is a small shop. They only sale sport Russian dolls. I never thought I would buy a Russian doll one day, but that one was cool.
I bought a Manchester United one. My mate bought one from the Montreal Canadiens and he bought another one for one of our friend back home. On the other side of the tower, there was a to-go bar. I always love the concept. We bought a few drinks and had them in the middle of the Plaza. I can't remember the name of it ... I like to call the main one. It has a bunch of lovely sculptures, some restaurants all around it and another Irish pub, where we finished the night. I will spare the ins and outs, but will share one thought with you; I always associated cities with the people you met there. I will always love Prague for its simplicity, its good taste, the childhood memories it brings back and for that night. For a few hours, we were back on that beach under the powerful Greek sun and we were enjoying the present moment. Thanks guys, you made me a happy man.

Prague you are beautiful!

Nick


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement









16th January 2014

Prague
The beauty of it all. We have not made it to Prague yet but it is on the short list. Great stuff.
17th January 2014

On my list...
...to visit is Prague, I haven't gotten there yet but it sure looks amazing and I'm really looking forward to going there myself!

Tot: 0.332s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 23; qc: 102; dbt: 0.1087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb