Pooches in Prams; Czech this Out!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Old Town
September 29th 2011
Published: November 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Within 2 hours of leaving Germany I arrived in the Czech Republic.
Europeans have the luxury of exploring many countries on their door step and can be in a different country within minutes! Unlike Australia where it can take 30 minutes just to get across the Harbour Bridge!

The bus drop off point was 6 tram stops away from the city, and the hostel I was staying at offered something no other one on my travels did; a pool!
It was indoors and even had a sauna to get me warmed up before a splash, but the cold water wasn’t holding me back from a dip after England’s lack-of summer weather didn't allow such an opportunity. Oh it was a great feeling and brought me back to last summer when I did laps at Cabarita pool (near my place in Abbotsford)!

An afternoon arrival left me some time to start exploring the city. I started with the Stare Mesto (Old Town) and was impressed by the Gothic steeples of Tyn Church (built in 1365!) and St Nicholas Church (1730). The big attraction however was the astronomical clock of the Old Town Hall, dating back to the 15th Century. Attracting hundreds each hour, the clock entertains crowds with its parade of apostles and bell-ringing skeleton. Its so popular that it won an award for being one of the most disappointing tourist attractions!
Thankfully I didn’t hold my breath because I knew the secret but just wanted to go and see peoples reaction, saying "is that it?".

Moving on, I crossed the famous Charles Bridge, spotted with statues, artists and jewellery stalls, it was a calm evening and the view across the river was stunning.

A craving for vegetables (I miss home cooking!) led me to find a not-so-healthy dinner; a vegetarian pizza. It could have easily fed two people, but as I was born with a disorder where your eyes are bigger than your stomach and throwing out good food is not an option. Well there was only one person to blame when I felt like my stomach was going to explode!

On day two in Prague I joined a free walking tour to help get my head around the city layout and learn a tale or two about it's history. The guide was an Aussie from Newcastle (now living in Prague) and took us on a 3.5 hour walk, covering points of interest in the Old and New Towns and Jewish Quarter. As I only had 2 full days in Prague the days were long and full of walking, I clocked up 7 hours at least each day (I hope I worked off some of the pizza!). The most scenic view point is from the city’s number one attraction and world’s largest castle complex; Prague Castle. Time didn’t permit me to explore the inside, but a walk around the complex, taking in the views was good enough!

So you might wonder where the inspiration came for the title of this blog.. Well here’s the story: I spotted something never seen before.. a dog in a pram! Ok, I’ve seen them in handbags and in bicycle baskets, but this was taking it to the extreme! As I watched in shock, and took a photo thinking it was hilarious, along came the toddler and the dog jumped out. At least he knew who was boss!

Stay tuned for some love interest in the next blog..


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Prague Castle..Prague Castle..
Prague Castle..

too big to fit in a photo!
Powder TowerPowder Tower
Powder Tower

Gun powder was stored here during the war


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb