Dveře of Staré Město Praha


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Old Town
May 13th 2010
Published: May 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Doors of Old Town Prague
As was mentioned in the last blog (or the one before that as the 'last blog' is currently uploading!), I was awoken by the chimes of the Astronomical Clock at 6 a.m. Again, there must have been a software glitch or perhaps the server crashed - who knows!

Anyway, given the hour and the lack of activity in the square, I decided to get out and take some snaps. I came across a few interesting doors in the back alley ways and that was it...I ventured around the local area, venturing down alleys, lane ways and main streets alike, one door led to another!

I was questioned in some back street by a local gentlemen as to what was I doing (presumably photographing his door?) My lack of Czech was obvious, as was his English, so I pointed to the door assumed the "I'm taking a photo" stance then animated the "I'm crazy". He laughed..."vy dvere blaznivy" and walked off chuckling. I have had to try and remember what he said but by his reaction, I took it as "you - door - crazy" (He understood my intentions...)

Not to be prejudiced towards any door in particular, I shot them all. The cheap, the expensive, the plain, the ornate, the religious, the wooden and the metal. No matter the colour, shape or material they were constructed of, they are here. It didn't matter if they hadn't been opened for centuries and weren't likely to (I didn't include the glass shop fronts) They aren't apart of the" Doors of Old Town Prague"

Anyway, here are the doors..If I published them, they might make a good door stop!


Additional photos below
Photos: 113, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



15th May 2010

Loved your blog - who would have thought doors could be so fascinating? Or that you would photograph quite so many!

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb