Opera.. Marionette Style


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Malá Strana
March 7th 2010
Published: March 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

PRAHA Day 46



Today I woke up and headed to the Mala Strana neighbourhood which lays in the shadow of the castle. As I walked I came across the area that has the Franz Kafka Museum and in the middle of the square is the funniest statue/fountain I have ever seen, aside from the ogre eating small wriggly children. The statue was of two men facing each other taking a pee but their bodies moved back and forth at the hips and their man bits moved up and down. It is so strange but people gather around it to watch them swing the pee stream back and forth and up and down.

After the peeing men I headed for the Old Jewish Quarter that has many old and neat looking synagogues. I continued to walk around the town and came across a small market. The market was full of pretty Easter eggs and witches. I wanted to buy an Easter egg till I realized that it wouldn’t last 2 seconds in my bag before it was a pile of shell. But they are definitely beautiful. It would be very difficult to make some of them especially the ones with the holes throughout them.

Throughout Czech I have seen many marionettes and wooden puppets for sale. So I decided that it would be fun to go and watch one of the marionette plays. One such play was an opera called Don Giovanni. The show was strange but funny. It made me laugh many times so it was worth it. Even though I didn’t always understand what was going on, it was an Italian Opera, and the marionettes can not change their facial expressions I was still able to grasp the storyline. I made my way back to hostel for dinner and bed.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb