Happy Birthday Dad


Advertisement
Published: March 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today I gave 4 back-to-back lessons at a school near the magistrate building. The lesson was on American Holidays, and I like to show a few videos from my facebook page to help the students identify with certain holidays. One of the videos I like to show is of Ava’s first Easter egg hunt. I remember that Easter really well. John was living with Ava and me in Ann Arbor and mom and dad had come down to stay for the holiday. Dad and I hid the eggs together and we all watched Ava find the eggs. There’s a part in the video where she asks, “Are the eggs near the tree, Papa?” and it really melts my heart. We all miss my dad so much. Today is his birthday. I’ve never met another man with as much integrity as my dad. I thank God for sending him to my mom so that I could have him as my dad and as Ava’s Papa. I miss him every day.



My dad spent time in Germany and the rest of Europe during the Vietnam War. He served in the army on a Pershing Missile Base. He really loved Germany, where he fell in love with gummy bears. We always bought them for him on the holidays because he would tell us about how he had to wait 3 years after he came back from Germany for them to show up in Northern Michigan.



So, I suppose this is as good a time as any to show you the last photos from Germany. It was still cold on Sunday, so we didn’t see a lot. We went back to the Old City and hung around there for a few hours before getting on the bus for home. One of the highlights of that trip was Ava asking the stewardess (in a loud voice) if she could have wine instead of hot chocolate. When I told her to just bring the cocoa, Ava yelled out, “I’ll take red if you have it!” All this traveling has certainly been interesting. We will go to Vienna this week. Enjoy the photos! Also, here is a video of Old Town, Dresden that might be interesting:
">



Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Dad and AvaDad and Ava
Dad and Ava
3 Generations in Dresden, Germany3 Generations in Dresden, Germany
3 Generations in Dresden, Germany
Statue in a churchStatue in a church
Statue in a church
Me and Ava in DresdenMe and Ava in Dresden
Me and Ava in Dresden
Me and Ava in DresdenMe and Ava in Dresden
Me and Ava in Dresden
3 Generations in Dresden3 Generations in Dresden
3 Generations in Dresden
Ava in the Old CityAva in the Old City
Ava in the Old City
Ava in front of the Opera HouseAva in front of the Opera House
Ava in front of the Opera House
Ava in the Old CityAva in the Old City
Ava in the Old City
Ava with a Street PerformerAva with a Street Performer
Ava with a Street Performer
Church in the Old CityChurch in the Old City
Church in the Old City
Ava Being GoofyAva Being Goofy
Ava Being Goofy
2013-03-23 08.34.022013-03-23 08.34.02
2013-03-23 08.34.02
2013-03-23 08.33.362013-03-23 08.33.36
2013-03-23 08.33.36
Ava on a Snow MoundAva on a Snow Mound
Ava on a Snow Mound
Inside a ChurchInside a Church
Inside a Church
Inside a ChurchInside a Church
Inside a Church
Old Town SquareOld Town Square
Old Town Square
River in DresdenRiver in Dresden
River in Dresden


Tot: 0.389s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb