The Learning Curve on Day Seven


Advertisement
Published: March 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Exhibition GameExhibition GameExhibition Game

Czech Junior Women vs. Ice Fernz
Our morning began with the usual daily routine. I trudged down to breakfast with bleary eyes at 6.30am and headed straight for the caffeination station. After breakfast, we headed to the rink and our team physiotherapist Julee worked on my sore neck. The range of motion and pain levels have improved heaps, and I felt fantastic after Julee finished. I had my first pain-free practice in a few days and began to hear choruses of James Brown singing "Ï feel good" as the training session progressed. After training and warm-downs, we had lunch and a three hour rest.

As I was checking my emails during the break, I noticed a sharp, throbbing pain in my left shoulder and went to see Julee again. She prodded me with her fingers and declared there were "gremlins" in my shoulders. To dispatch these inner demons, she poked an acupuncture needle in each side and told me to relax. Afterwards, I went and had an hour nap and woke up feeling refreshed and game-ready.

Today, the Ice Fernz had their first exhibition game scheduled against the Czech Republic's National Under 15 Women's Team. As we met in the lobby, we eyed up the
locker roomlocker roomlocker room

Ice Fernz locker room talk between periods
12-15 year old girls in red jackets as we headed to pre-game warm-ups. After a week of practices, Kelly and I were excited to play a real game and implement some of the team systems we'd been learning and practicing. As both teams got on the ice, I eyed up the other team and noticed they were all strong skaters. We would have to think and pass quickly under pressure. We shook hands with the Czeck girls and it was game time.

The Czech team got a two goal advantage on us before we scored our first goal. Our defensive-zone coverage was working for the most part and our positioning was generally good, but we weren't being aggressive enough in tying up players, lifting their sticks, and eliminating scoring opportunities. They capitalised on our mistakes and at times our team was scrambling to get control of the puck. At other times, we implemented our team systems successfully and had good scoring opportunities of our own. In every period of the game, we outshot the other team, but lost the game 5-2. The team was disappointed, but willing to take it onboard as a learning experience. I enjoyed the game and look forward to playing the same team again on Thursday.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb