Meeting the relatives


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Zadar
September 4th 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Split harbour01 Split harbour01 Split harbour

View of the harbour as the ferry came into port.
Geo: 44.0964, 15.1865

This morning I packed up and left the beautiful, peaceful island. I caught the bus to Stari Grad, only 15 minutes away and then caught the ferry back to Split. Once in Split I had some time to get some lunch and then settle in for my bus journey. After a three hour bus ride, I arrived in Zadar. At the bus station I was greeted by my relatives. My mother and her family were born in this town and left when she was a young child. Three of my grandmothers sisters live here with their families. At the bus station was Uncle Pero (one of my grandmother's sister's (Etta) husband), Aunt Mila (my grandmother's sister, who is such a splitting image of my grandmother!!) and Iva and Sime- Etta and Pero's grandchildren. They knew my name and he looked similar to his photo that I have seen at home, so I knew I was with the right people!!
I stayed in the family home, where my grandmother grew up with her family.
That evening Iva and Sime took me for a walk through the old town. I was very excited about being here, meeting other relatives and seeing
02 Bell tower02 Bell tower02 Bell tower

The bell tower of St Donats.
this old town that I had heard so much about.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

03 Bridge03 Bridge
03 Bridge

The bridge that leads to the old town.


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb