7 hours in a bus, sightseeing in Zadar and a big computer hell


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Zadar
July 16th 2005
Published: July 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Women in ZadarWomen in ZadarWomen in Zadar

In Zadar women sell lace in any form you can imagine.
Yesterday, I came to Zadar. Finally, I should say after spending seven hours in a bus in the morning.
I drove down the Croatian coast, gazing at the beautiful Adriatic Sea, as it woke in the morning. When I finally arrived and after finding the hostel, it was already past midday and the big question was, whether I should just stay on the beach and relax my now rather tired bag or if I should enter beyond the city walls of Zadar to sightsee for the afternoon. I chose the last.

With my camera in one hand and a bottle of water in the other, I walked, what seemed to me, all the streets of this magnificent city. In the afternoon not many tourists had left the beach area of Borik, so I found the centre quite nice and relaxed, though with a little too many souvenir shops. In the shop where I bought the sunblock - which I at this time really need, considering the temperature are 30+° C - I got a chat with a local who, as many before her, was happily surprised that I could utter a few phrases in Croatian and began rapidly explaining everything in the local tongue. What we talked about, I have no idea, but I asked her for a place to eat which was good and known by the locals. After a little more sightseeing I entered the Dva Ribara which she had shown me on the map and had a nice tortelini sa sirom, which I enjoyed fully after the half-dry bread I had been making myself eat in the bus as breakfast.

As I was now full and energetic I started looking for an internet café and here I would like to give Zadar a minus. In the first internet café I went into I wasn't allowed to use USB-access. The second was at the hostel where I spent two hours with a very slow connection, which I, in the end gave up on, and the last is this morning where I find internet, but no possible way of using my camera. I feel like I've spent most of the time searching for USB-access here in Zadar, just so my mother can be sure I'm okay. So much we do for our nervous mothers back home.

Today I think I will do a
Relaxing in ZadarRelaxing in ZadarRelaxing in Zadar

Promenading in Zadar taking a break, viewing the sea
little shopping and use the rest of the time on the beach and not think of the wasted time looking for internet yesterday.

So let's start the day and see where it leads us!

Anna


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.278s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 23; qc: 115; dbt: 0.1634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb