Krka National Park


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Skradin
September 4th 2017
Published: September 4th 2017
Edit Blog Post

One of the best day trips we took from Split was to the beautiful Krka National Park (I still can't get the pronunciation right, but I think it is more Kir-ka than Kra-ka). The main advantage the park has over Plitvice National Park is that you can swim here (in certain areas.) Definitely great news for us as we visited on the hottest day of our holiday at 38C, quite a shock for us pasty Scots!

On entering the park at the small town of Skradin, you are taken by boat along the river to the first spectacular waterfall, Skradinski Buk. You don't get super-close to the waterfall, but even when I swam up to the barrier I could feel my legs being dragged in by the powerful force of the falls.

Cooling off on such a hot day felt fabulous, but it was really rocky and slippy and I ended up buying swim shoes. I also kept scraping my knees on rocks while swimming, but there wasn't much to be done about that. I'd definitely recommend bringing swim shoes though, a picnic and something comfortable to sit/lie on as the ground is so uneven with rocks, tree roots, etc.

The highest waterfall in the park dries up in Summer, but I was really looking forward to seeing the second highest, Roski Slap. Unfortunately I don't think our ticket covered this and we didn't realise the boat trip to see it would take 3 hours. The park in general seemed really disorganised, we were told the whole park was only 2 km so we thought we'd have time to walk round it all but we definitely didn't. Although on such a hot day, the little hiking we did do was probably all we could manage. We spent most of our time around Skradinski Buk, but higher up we also did a nice nature walk too.

The park only has two toilet facilities, one between the boat dock and Skradinski Buk which charges extra, and a free one a 15 minute hike away up a very steep hill, sneaky that. Honestly everything about the attraction feels like it is designed to rip you off, but that can't take away from the beautiful surroundings and experience.

Only a 1-1.5 hour drive from Split I'd encourage anyone holidaying there to take an excursion to these waterfalls. We took a tour, which ended up being a bit of a waste of time as we didn't get any extra benefits from it and just ended up constantly having to hang about waiting for selfish, hungover people who slept in, went to buy coffee, etc, etc. If I was going again I'd just do it by public transport, even if that did involve a transfer in the town of Sibenik. Sibenik is home to a UNESCO-listed cathedral, which some other tour operators include in the excursion. Lesson learned - don't just buy the first excursion you see advertised!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Krka National Park Krka National Park
Krka National Park

One of those little figures in the water is me, at the barrier farthest to the left. It is me, honest!


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb