Nice Visit to Pula, Hrvatska


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Central Croatia
August 18th 2005
Published: January 28th 2020
Edit Blog Post

This part of my Croatia blog started around 1989 while I was working in the Houston, Texas area. I had close ties in Nacogdoches, Texas and often visited my friends there on weekends. I met a nice grad (or post grad) student Boris from Croatia, and we became friends and exchanged email. When the 1991 war started Boris immediately returned home and used all of his resources to purchase and bring back (from Germany) badly needed medical supplies.

Now in 2005 I was planning my Switzerland and Croatia adventure, so I shot Boris an email informing him of my plans in Croatia. Not just planning to meet me at the family farm in Rakov Potok; Boris offered to take me round trip to his second home in a town just outside of Pula. This was to good to pass on, and that became part of my plan.

Boris came by and enjoyed a visit with the clan at the family farm; then drove me (by way of Rijeka) to his semi-primitive (row house) home very near Pula. After we settled in at his home, we went to see Pula. I was surprised to see the old Roman ruins that stood tall in Pula. We visited the harbor and shopped. (I purchased a Croatia flag and map for my computer room wall. I also purchased two large hand painted Hrvatska shot glasses that I use for sipping rum.)

We took a nice swim in the sea with a sandy beach. We then returned to his home and changed into dry clothes. For our evening we walked the short distance to the town square for some cappuccino.

The next morning a friend of Boris came to visit him, and we three went to a rocky beach there in Pula to swim. The rocky beach adversely affected my bad feet so I sat in the shade while they took a dip in the sea. Then we returned to his home where I found out that Boris planned another nearby excursion for us.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb