D17: Another short and sweet one


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Central Croatia » Zagreb
July 17th 2013
Published: July 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Apparently I didn't have enough of nature being out in Plitvice for two days - today I went to Maksimir Park, a large park in the east end of the city.

I brought a sandwich and had a picnic while reading my book. No, it wasn't the beauty standards of the past few days, but it was nice and quiet. Finally, somewhere without a heap of tourists!

I continued venturing around the park - I decided to go check out the zoo, it was only like... $4? haha. It was a decent enough zoo... the cages were relatively well maintained (minus one or two), and they're in the process of rebuilding and creating new enclosures, so that's always good to see.

And because it's late here and I don't feel like stringing these into paragraphs (oh, the laziness! Sorry. I'll go back to real entry stuff tomorrow.) have some random observations from the day:

- I saw two pigeons run. Actually, run. I didn't know they could do that?

- Watched a kid steal another kid's stroller...? Parents were oblivious to it all. The other child... not so much haha. Oh the screaming.

- Angry
Reading in the parkReading in the parkReading in the park

It's a beautiful thing
chimpanzees make a terrifying noise. In all the zoos I've been to, I've never heard them actually fight..?

- I could watch sea lions all day when they're frolicking in the water, playing games amongst themselves. It's awesome.

- Same for bears - I could watch them all day too. Lumbering along, or sleeping, or whatever they are doing.

- I cannot see a Kookaburra without singing the song. You know which song.

- Sleeping lions are adorable. Even more adorable when they're dreaming and stretch their paws out and remind me of my Homer-bear. I miss my kitty.

- Great snake exhibit - didn't know they had that many venomous snakes here in Croatia. Glad I haven't seen any in person.

- According to a sign, you are not allowed to swim with your dog? Ok. Good to now.

- Saw a statue from the tram with the most perfectly chiseled bum... like I kid you not, it was perfect. (I am aware this makes me sound childish. I am 100% ok with that.)

So, that's that! I'm off to Budapest tomorrow! EXCITED.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

STUNNEDSTUNNED
STUNNED

He looks horrified that I'm taking a pic
Pelican shotPelican shot
Pelican shot

The annual garbage bag for my Mom
Warning signsWarning signs
Warning signs

Some snakes will kill you (toxic face), but apparently this guy will only freak you out.


Tot: 0.651s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.3545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb