Visit With Relatives in Rakov Potok, Hrvatska


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Central Croatia » Zagreb
August 15th 2005
Published: January 4th 2020
Edit Blog Post

family farmfamily farmfamily farm

Ljiljana on left, Franjo on right
Long ago there were two brothers living on a farm at Garasici or Falascak. First was my grandpaw who moved to the Eastern USA. The second stayed in Hrvatska and established a nice family farm in Ratov Potok. The grandson of the second brother is Franjo, the patriarch of the Garasic clan. (Most of my relatives in Croatia spell their name Garasich.)

I was met at the bus station in Zagreb by Ljiliana (a direct relative from just outside of the clan) who spoke English and translated my emails and organized the clan for my visit. We had a nice walk around Zagreb. After a while she drove me to the family farm in Rakov Potoc. Though few there spoke any English (and I speak zero Croatian), I received a very warm welcome from my good relatives.

Soon it was time for lunch. It is family tradition to eat well while visiting. I had a large munch there with very good farm raised food that they served.

Later the clan leader (Franjo) gave me what I thought was some "very large apples"; that was really good large ripe nectarines; and I had another good munch. I toured the family farm with other members of the clan. An hour or so later while sitting on a table in front of the farm house; Franjo set a large paper bag with the very good large nectarines on the table for me and others to munch.

Later that afternoon some of us rode to a nice view overlooking the farmland and the forested mountains. We returned back to the family farm for a good dinner. Thus ended my first day in beautiful Hrvatska. What good things to happen in the next few days was far better then I expected.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

nearby farmnearby farm
nearby farm

Franjo on right, grandson Matthew on left


7th January 2020

Great blog
Nice place! I am glad you visit your family and you had a positive impression of the Balkans.
10th January 2020

Rakov Potok, Hrvatska
Thanks Sandra. That was a "once in a lifetime" chance for me and it was wonderful.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb