A Week Near Zagreb, Hrvaska


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Central Croatia » Zagreb
August 15th 2005
Published: January 3rd 2020
Edit Blog Post

ZagrebZagrebZagreb

Ljiljana and me
I started planning this adventure six months in advance when I had an invite to stay (free) in a multi-million dollar private ski resort in Eastern Switzerland. This was my first passport cuz Canada, Mexico, and the Eastern Caribbean Islands did not require a passport for citizens of the USA then.

This one week in Hrvaska was to finally meet my direct relatives (separated by three generations and language). I took a bus from Zurich to Zagreb, and was met by a direct relative (Ljiljana) that spoke English. We walked around Zagreb for a hour or two taking in the sites.

Then Ljiljana drove me to our family farm, outside of Zagreb, at Rakov Potok. I received a warm welcome from my relatives at the family farm.

Commentary: In the dark days of the 1990s very bad things happened in the former Yugoslavia. I do not wish to assign blame for the 1990s, cuz the people did not get to vote on that war. It appears to me that those deep wounds of the past have healed; making me happy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

ZagrebZagreb
Zagreb

flowers
ZagrebZagreb
Zagreb

flowers
ZagrebZagreb
Zagreb

neat car
ZagrebZagreb
Zagreb

Ljiljana and me
ZagrebZagreb
Zagreb

relatives


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb