Jersey...one stag one wedding and lots of parties


Advertisement
Jersey's flag
Europe » Channel Islands » Jersey
June 23rd 2009
Published: July 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived very refreshed in Jersey just in time for lunch on my birthday on 17th June. Claire and Matt picked me up from the airport and we went to a beautiful beach side cafe for lunch. I hadn´t really eaten anything on the plane and I was slowly getting used to the fact that I could have what ever I wanted again! despite having travelled for almost 24 hours (had a five hour wait in Bangkok and another 5 hours in Gatwick), I felt great and was ready to celebrate in Style. The lovely Claire and Scott hosted us during our stay on the island and we all went over to Mike and Lisette´s house that night for a bbq. It was so great to see all the gang again and catch up before M&L´s wedding on the following Saturday. Claire had even baked me a cake which I greatfully washed down with a very full glass of Champers - ooh glorious re-toxing.

we had a great couple of days sight-seeing in Jersey - it´s such a beautiful island and we got glorious weather (I didn´t believe them when they said it´s not like that all of the time!). On Friday, we helped with a couple of last minutes things for the wedding (very important ..like car washing and nail painting and last minute champers drinking and nerve shaking) and then we had an early night before the big event. I had a very funny hair experience in the morning. I really wanted wanted my colour done but couldn´t face paying 100 pounds in the fancy place in town. So I went to a funny little old ladies´place with net curtains and a line of blue rinses under great big ro.ller heaters. I think I was the only one under 70 in there and the ladies had great fun ´wedding-a-fying´me. well for less than a third of the price and not a bad job at all, I couldn´t complain!

The wedding was just beautiful. It was in the lovely La Mare winery and Lisette arrived looking very regal and fairy-tale like in a horse drawn carraige. Mike looked very dapper and not too nervous as he waited in the Marquee. after a very beautiful ceremony, we all had champagne from the vineyard and hors d,ouvres out on the lawn. we then went inside for an absolutely delicious meal
Birthday!Birthday!Birthday!

my lovely cake as cooked by Claire
of local asparagus and scallops and then Jersey Beef and finally fabulous strawberries with champagne jelly (True to Lisette´s vocation, the whole wedding was done in a very eco-friendly way including all local produce food and drinks). after Mike and Lisette´s first dance (which of course was ...Mrs Jones!), we all jumped up and joined them and tried to dance off the huge meal. the day afterwards, I realised that we had 300 photos of the night ...Matt had handed the camera around randomly with instructions to ´come back with 100 good ones´. the next day, we all met up again for a bbq at a fort overlooking the bay. it was so hot but we were able to cool off by popping down to the beach and Matt, Scott and Friz went cliff jumping in the Venus Pools.

we were very sad to leave all our friends in Jersey on 23rd but hopefully we´ll be back again soon. It´s on the list!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

FoxgloveFoxglove
Foxglove

on our bush walk in Jersey


Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 20; qc: 80; dbt: 0.1353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb