The Blog is back - greetings from Guernsey


Advertisement
Jersey's flag
Europe » Channel Islands » Guernsey » St Peter Port
March 13th 2010
Published: March 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, that's me two weeks into the next chapter of my life....my time out travelling is but a distant memory.

I've been pretty rubbish keeping in touch (no Facebook or Googlemail access at work, laptop still at home and need to change mobile tarriff) so hence this blog.

Arrived on Guernsey (aka the Rock) 26 Feb - it was sunny and looking it's best. Popped into the office to see my new colleagues in the flesh as we'd only had one telephone interview and one video conf interview, so both sides were keen to meet each other. Invited to join the Quiz team that night. Behaved myself, had lots of wine and staggered back to B&B about 1am!

Agency had put me in touch with an Irish guy, Gary who had relocated here about a year ago. We'd talked on the phone before I moved and I'd promised to buy him a drink when I arrived, so we met up to watch the rugby on Saturday - a few drinks turned in to 8 hours in my new local - the Cock and Bull, lol. Sampling and 'researching' the local cider (Rocquette) and beer (Breda).

First day at work went well. Praxis are an independently owned Guernsey Fund Administration / Fiduciary company. I'm in a team / bank of desks of 10 which includes the directors - never has it been so easy to get signatories! I'm looking after 4 property funds investing in Europe, Japan, Russia and Guernsey. Early days but they're busy boards and loving the diversity. Getting to know the funds, the directors and Guernsey law & regs - adapting back to Co Sec and office life surprisingly quickly. Board meetings scheduled in Paris and Amsterdam later this year. Got my first board packs out this week with my first board meeting in a VERY long time next Friday - eek.

I've made friends with my colleagues and already been drinking with some of them several times. Thanks to Irish Gary also made friends with people out of work and locals, including my 'new best friend' Amanda - several mid week drinks at the Cock and Bull. We're all off to a black tie Paddy's Day Ball tonight - didn't pack for such an event during my first few weeks here so need to hit the shops today for a frock! A lot of UK high street names - M&S, East, Next, New Look, etc but just smaller. Lots of independent shops too and fab jewellry shops!

Guernsey is very picturesque, apparently not as 'westernised' as Jersey and with a big French influence. The harbour in St Peter Port with the yachts and the Castle is as pretty as the guide book suggests. There are no house numbers here - all house names, lots of tiny lanes and one way / one track roads - very rural. Looking forward to lots of eating and drinking al fresco in the summer, for a small place there's loads of choice. Already tried Guernsey crab salad, yum.

The B&B is friendly, nice room overlooking the sea, great value, they do a mean breakfast and only a 10 min walk to work. However, this week I managed to finalise renting a houseshare. So....with effect from 1 April I will be living in Le Chantier - it is a massive bungalow in the parish of St Martin, set in a huge garden with Petit Bo beach at the bottom of the garden!!!! It's fairly rural - 15 min bus ride from town and then 15-20 min walk (still to actually do this) through a maze of wee lanes, but completely worth it for the setting. I can take advantage of the cliff path walks a few minutes away, the beach and there's even an M&S in St Martin 😊 My room is an ok size with lots of storage and a desk but the communal rooms are great - big kitchen / diner and huge living room, not to mention decking out the back for summer BBQ's and the massive garden. There are two couples who tend to either be out or in their rooms so the majority of the time it's only going to be me and Craig, my Scottish housemate. Hoping we'll be able to chill out, share a few beers, etc

Anyhoo, that's the main highlights. I'll be home for Easter weekend. Will be filling the backpack and the lilac suitcase with more stuff as well as bringing the laptop down...so by Easter the relocation will be well and truly official and it will probably stop feeling like I'm just here on holiday - I've already registered with Social Services and the Tax Office here, got health insurance (no NHS here!), joined the gym, settled in to work, made new friends and will have moved into my new house.

Can't wait until 26th - PAY DAY, the first in 18 months 😊 Then the saving can begin in earnest for trips with Explore, Exodus and GAP again - woohoo.

No luck renting Edinburgh flat yet, so PLEASE continue to spread the word - if you need the email with details, just let me know.

Missing home but so far so good down here on the Rock.
Bi 4 now,
Shons x

Advertisement



14th March 2010

Very Jealous
Sooooooo jealous yet again.!! However the the sun is shining and the first Samuelston lambs are skipping about like looneys with not a thought being given to mint sauce!! So in a happy sring is coming mood today. Sounds like you are having a ball. Will look to organise a visit hopefully in June ......I expect you to know all the best eateries, nail bars etc by then heehee. Take care. x

Tot: 0.302s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb