Aha! I am finally blogging


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria
July 24th 2009
Published: July 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am a terrible blogger. I have been blogging mentally, not physically. I just found a cafe with a computer, which makes blogging easier than on my blackberry.

I am having a fantastic time here in Varna. The directors of the project are amazing and very nice. I love the Djanavara site. I have been excavating from around 8 am to 1:30 pm each day, because it gets very, very HOT in the middle of the day. The team is really cool. I love the participants from around the globe and the Bulgarian team. We are getting along really well. I especially appreciated Ivan, the strong Bulgarian who was able to push the wheelbarrow of dirt filled to the rim quickly up the ramp with no assistance. He left yesterday and my group wanted to cry. It takes 4 of us to replace Ivan. I wanted to extract his DNA when he was using the pitchfork before he left (in order to clone him and create an army of super archaeologists) , but I didn't get a chance to do so.

Anyway, I am learning a great deal and having a fun time. The Black Sea is so beautiful. My dry eye condition has been cured~! I went from using my eye drops every hour to using them twice a day here. It is amazing. I have been eating some yummy Bulgarian food, my favorite so far are the stuffed peppers and the cold yogurt cucumber soup.

The team and I have also been going out to some clubs and I have many funny stories from these adventures. I didn't really enjoy the clubs much however. I rather sit in the beach bar/cafe that rests on the sand and lie on one of their giant cushions sipping espresso and watching the men play football (soccer). hahaha.

OKAY- I will blog again tomorrow after my trip to the Pobiti Kamani stone forest. I have a lot more to write, but I want to hit the sand! hahaha

Bye!


Advertisement



24th July 2009

Yay!
I'm glad you are having such a great time. Congratulations on the eyes, that's fantastic! I hoe you are taking lots of pictures.
25th July 2009

: )
you're having a great time! too bad you couldn't clone Ivan. haha. how old are the people on the bulgarian team? do they speak english well? are you learning bulgarian? you should try and post some photos of the black sea!will you be able to go on a boat sometime? someday we will go together! have fun!!!!! love katherine ;)
25th July 2009

Exciting adventures!
Hello Tonia, I am so excited for you this trip sounds amazing. I cannot wait until you post some pictures!
25th July 2009

Hi Antonia
the food sounds very interesting. It's amazing that you're dry eye is cured, it must be the clean air! I wish I was there and not here awaiting a 48- hour trip in the car back to Florida. have you been building up some muscles? looking forward to your next blog, what the heck does "pobiti kamani" mean? ;) Love Mom
26th July 2009

Hi Katherine! I have learned some Bulgarian, but so many people speak English here that I have been very lazy. The team members are in 20's and older. I am older than my roomies, but we get along really well. I am going to miss them when the dig is over. I took a zillion photos of the sea, but I can't upload my photos at the cafe. When I get home I will add photos to this blog and make it jazzy. I will go on a boat this coming week, apparently there is some sort of "pirate" ship that we can ride on and drink wine , Someday I will bring you here. Love, Antonia
26th July 2009

Hi Steph
YO Stephanie! haha.. I love it here. I have many photos, but as I mentioned in my blog entry, I can't upload them here. So you have to wait :(. There is so much to tell you, but I rather just tell you on phone when I get home, too much to type. I hope you had fun with mom, dad and kathy before they left. Love, Antonia
26th July 2009

Mommy
Hi mom, I hope you and daddy have a good drive back to florida. I am very tan now and I feel and look stronger like bulgarian bull! hahaha. I am doing hard work at my site and it shows. My strong Santangelo legs come in handy! haha. Someday I am forcing you and dad on a plane and brining you here. Daddy would love the beach in Varna, he could sit on a cushion and drink coffee and stare at the water. It is so relaxing and fun. I never enjoyed the beach so much before. I even bought a seashell necklace to fit in hahaha.. Okay, I will email you soon. Love, Antonia (your first born child)

Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb