The End of the Orphanage


Advertisement
Published: July 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

SO... we have come to the end of our volunteering in the Street Centre, it was so sad saying bye to the kids yesterday and the owner of the centre was so nice. On our last day we did face painting, followed by making a huge collage of lots of pictures that we printed (space themed). We also had water fights, drawing, football and fun, I will definitely remember this place, for the experience and the people.

What I found difficult was that we didn't know any of their backgrounds= like why they were there, where their parents were, what their past was like, I had a bit of an insight into a few of them when a Bulgarian/English speaking Polish girl arrived this week and she told us what she had found out from the members of staff present at the centre.

Other than being at the orphanage I have had a great time. On thursday we went to the hot springs down the road, which was really nice as it was night time and right by the beach and really warm. They are next to a really touristy/resorty area (called St St Constantine and Helena) which has a few shops and bars but are really over priced.

I am ready to leave this place now, it will be exciting to go to somewhere different. Many people stop here on the way to Istanbul (which would have been a great idea) but we are heading to Sofia via Veliko Tarnovo, they are only a few hours from eachother and buses are really frequent so when we leave, soon, we are just spending a few hours wondering around Veliko (which is suppose to be really pretty) before going to Sofia for the day tomorrow and then flying back on Monday. Excuse my lack of photos, my camera died!!! NOOO! But I have a few of the orphange that I will upload when I get home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb