orkneys and beyond or the lull B4 the storm


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » Varna Province » Varna
June 7th 2007
Published: June 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Can hardly remember the number of experiences - definately too long between internet access. Now back @ Gregory's Backpackers for 2 nites to recover my sanity and the vans engine. Talking to your plants is nearly normal but talking to your car is not!! More of that anon!.

SO - Orkneys - well a few myths put to rest here and myself also given a rest from the pandemonium before and also latterly. Many thanks for a great stay and really too perfect to be newsworthy with the" problem - hungry public.". But MY undying gratitude is asured + if anyone ever find yourself on" MAINLAND "Orkney (John who says you can't teach an old dog---) you should enjoy the magnificent Kirkwall Cathedral and lots of antiquities (not human)!!

That's all folks -- NOT - the bits U are waiting for are about to happen! So I arrived back on Thurs and (after a delayed flight to Man ) Nothing new there, then Jan picked me up from the train station at Meadowhall. They were departing for their boat on Sat and I hoped' if the smoke signals were correct 'to be on my way also. A trip to the post office on Lydgate lane (memories anyone?!) saw me with the long awaited tax and I decided to try to leave Fri night. After a bar-B-Q at J+J's and a meal at the 3 Merry lads( lodge moor) I was well fuelled for the journey and Morrisons did the van. I eventually left Brett's at 22.20 and set off to Dover. Excellent drive(min traffic) until M25 when I noticed that a degree of stop/start was happening with the engine(Thanks Morrison's - dirty petrol). But with a little tickling and lots of stops I made it to Dover in time for the 7.30 ferry. AA wasn't open so I decided to risk going on and managed to make Frankfurt just. Having been told that nothing was open til Mon I had visions of my birthday being spent waiting for engine repairs. No - resourceful as ever I spotted a couple of mechanics working on large lorries. This is me I thought no need to hang around ,no - would I be that lucky - anxious to please they ushered me in to the garage only on realising that it was not diesel they didn't know what to do and their benzine expert would be available on Mon!! Back to square one -not- a man (presumably benzine type) came and replaced my fuel filter (full of yuck).Wouldn't take a penny either so I was back in business. Eventualy after 2 or 3 tries I found a super campsite just outside the city and conveniently placed for travel on to Salz.(Sun) This was the first experience of non-motorway driving ie negotiating real streets with one way systems etc and lots of helpful people giving different directions. The campsite was definately worth the hassle and a free real shower was the icing on the cake. So tomorrow's another day. With a reasonable night's sleep I set off at 6.30 to try and catch up on some of the lost time with petrol problems. Now enjoying steep hills in Germany and moving rapidly towards Saltzburg at about 11 am and therefore thinking that Ljubliana might be reasonable . Yes but again no! Number 2 blow-out about 2 exits from Saltz. Just past rest-stop turn in unfortunately so all the peasants in that area saw me struggling with changing a tyre on my own .Thank god for my pneumatic jack purchase and yellow coat (99p) in Sheffield pound shop! No knight's this time but managed to get spare on with 3 nuts last 2 allued me so I limped of to the next exit with moving flashers and found that last 2 now fitted on. What a cracker!! Pulled back on to Saltsburg turn and set off at 80kph with trepidation. About 5 mins down the road the Austrian police flagged me down re wobbling wheel. I showed them the old wheel , they tried the nuts (secure) and so allowed me to travel the 33 km to salz. but only at 30 mph. Given the honks before( at 50 mph ) I dreaded this set-up and decided to comply but with flashers now working overtime. Saltz arrived but that was again the start of trying to find the campsite and yet again landing on my feet at Panoramic Camping - lovely family site with fantastic views over the mountains. Again greatly recommended. Found I could get a Saltzburg Card (transport and attractions) for 22 euros. So as you could catch the bus from just across a few fields I headed for S with my camera. As I had had to try to get all tyre muck off it was too late to get the attractions so I played tourist with camera and left them for tomorrow - my birthday. The original card ran out at 4.45 (4/6)but I came back earlier to get tyre before b'day dinner in camp restautant. When the proprietor saw size said I would be better waiting till 2morow as garage he was thinking of dealt with car tyres mostly. It did not take much arm twisting so I went to get ready for my meal, knowing that an early sober start was in order. Had a fabulous steak with trimmings and bottle of wine for only 20 euros !! + a chocolate coin for my birthday. Now in fridge and unopened as a souvenir of the camp kindness/attitude. Half the wine travelled and was consumed the next day.,however I did have a taste of (brett's) fine bushmills to round off the day. Saw the zoo, went on the chair lift up the highest mount in the range with mist soaking me but some alpines seen for the first time(eg.Gentians)in the wild. Fantastic.I was thrilled for receiving a 2/5 sec window of sun and clearish visibility, super b'day present from on high, then the mist returned .Nearly didn't get off again due to high winds which(most anoyingly) then cleared the mist to leave beautiful sunshine!! So much for my special birthday gift. Didn't manage to get the boat trip (not operating) but did manage to get the trip around the fortress(cardinals residence) with a vocal commentary. Well worth the card's value. The boat trip was remedied next day whilst waiting for the tyres to be sorted. Was sorry I had to pay but generally better done as part of Card package I guess.
re the tyres they were so cheap(comparitively) that I bought 3 so I have new tyres on van including the spare. No more messing around and using jack I hope. BUT at least I have police back-up that the tyres were substandard. Took lots of pics this time of tyre and intend to claim 2 of three off firm. I reckon they are getting off lightly(+mot and RAC.) Obviously not up for the job that they should do. This is borne out by heavy traveling tues and today. All tyres appear OK. Not so my temper yesterday but this for another day, to add to the experiences that are bound to come in the next 2 days. Signing off whacked and about to get ratarsed if poss.with 2 days grace to get buisness stuff sorted and hopefully an address of my new property. So bye for now,Supergran.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.29s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb