Day 28 - Hvar in Croatia to Mostar in Bosnia Herzegovina


Advertisement
Bosnia and Herzegovina's flag
Europe » Bosnia & Herzegovina
June 30th 2013
Published: July 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Mostar - old townMostar - old townMostar - old town

Mostar - old town
Sun 30th June 2013

Day 28 - Hvar in Croatia to Mostar in Bosnia Herzegovina

Found this interesting vehicle next to my camp. It was a big Mercedes truck converted into a expedition vehicle. What a monster, it was a 'go anywhere car'. I had a closer look and it also used the same Koni shock absorbers as my little G wagon. I laughed and thought to myself 'When my car grows up one day, it would look like that big monster truck.

Time to move on and this time I was heading for the nearest ferry port to get off the island of Hvar. Half an hour later, I reached the ferry port and bought a ticket to sail to Split on the mainland. The ferry sailed at around 11.30 and arrived in the port of Split at around 1pm. It was wonderful sea journey, warm cool sea breeze, sunshine, the water was a deep blue colour. As the ship approached Split, there were lots of sailing boats with white sails dotted on the horizon, the sea gulls were flying above the ship and it was almost like a dream.

The city of Split was a large city in comparison to other Croatian cities, so I decided to give the city a miss and headed straight for Mostar in Bosnia. The drive to Mostar was smooth, the roads were in good condition because it was a toll road and by 5 pm I have reached Mostar. Checked into a nearby campsite called ' Mali Wimbledon', yes, Wimbledon as in the lawn tennis Wimbledon. Arrived at the campsite to find a tennis court with green grass - wonderful.

After checking in and sorted out the formalities, I drove to see the famous 'Stari Most' which is the old bridge that was blown up during the war and has since been re-built back to its original glory. Stari Most did not disappoint. It was a wonderful bridge and the town goes as far back as the 15th century.

It was very late and I was too tired to cook, so again I ate at a local cafe. I ate some local food and had a baklava for dessert. Very nice. It was early evening and I took some more pictures of the place before heading back to the camp for the night.

Most frustrating to find that I cannot access the internet at the camp. I will try again tomorrow morning.

Tomorrow, I will continue my journey eastwards to the city of Sarajevo.


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Mostar's famous bridge - Stari MostMostar's famous bridge - Stari Most
Mostar's famous bridge - Stari Most

Mostar's famous bridge - Stari Most


Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb