Grumpy Dutch Lady


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium
June 11th 2015
Published: November 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 49.8002, 5.21287

So the day started at a place called Les Ochay where we had arrived the day before and camped overnight. It was a fantastic place, next to a small river that was very refreshing to swim in….Haha yep that is right swim as it was hot about 28 degrees C. So anyway later that night some mad duchies arrived and plonked themselves right next to us… nearly set a tent up under our overhang. When we awoke we did our thing and packed up ready to leave, now we all know that the best way to start a driving day is to let the engine idle for a while so the juices get ready.. howsoever it would appear that another Dutch lady camped across the way did not understand the logic and promptly came over and said something like…. You leave now, your car it smells not well… what the freak.. I stared at her with my mouth open and she repeated it again in a very stern Dutch style. It was clear that her attempts to control us in English (not her first language) was causing her immense frustration as she turned an interesting shade of red. Now given my heritage, I told her to bugger off in my perfect Dutch and then moved on in disbelief.

So anyway off we went and headed towards Luxemburg keeping to the minor roads as best we could. On arrival into Luxemburg we did what all Europeans do in Luxemburg filled up the car as it's the cheapest fuel in Europe. Funny thing I went in to pay and the chap spoke perfect English, I said number 7 please and he did a double take… I don't think normal vehicles take 190ltrs of fuel. He looked at the camera screen then at me and smiled then gave me some lollies.. strange but funny.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb