A little of Belgium & a little of Holland


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » West Flanders » De Haan
August 4th 2011
Published: August 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello all 62 of you,

Yesterday we visited the coast of Belgium on the North Sea.
A good day for it with some sun and a breeze off the water.
Lots of hotels, lots of people. Enjoying the beech. A large
strand of sandy coast. The waves were puny. Also I'm sure
the water temps were quite chilly as most were just enjoying
the sun. I've come to understand that for most Europeans their
holiday (which we call vacation) is shopping and eating. Quite
family oriented whether on bicycle or at the table. The bikers
have NO fear of cars. They just peddle on their merry way
regardless of cars. There are some bike ways but that would
never do, for the Tour de France want-a-be's who ride in packs
in all their regalia! Ah Europe!
Today we ventured across the frontier into Holland to a small
village "Sluis". It was ok but way to many SHOPPERS for
my taste. We got home just before the rain started.
I think next week we will take the train to Gent (AKA Ghent)
A very beautiful city. We may skip Brussels. Too big for me.
Also another city which is noteworthy is Ieper which was known
a Yeper. In 1915 during WW1 Yeper was literally flattened.
500,000 dead in the battles. It was about this area that the
poem "In Flanders Field was written
Here's what it read:


by John McCrae, May 1915
Poppies (©greatwar.co.uk)

In Flanders fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row,
That mark our place; and in the sky
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.

We are the Dead. Short days ago
We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
Loved and were loved, and now we lie
In Flanders fields.

Take up our quarrel with the foe:
To you from failing hands we throw
The torch; be yours to hold it high.
If ye break faith with us who die
We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
In Flanders fields.

Beautiful poem. Wonderful verse and meter!

We will tour the Flanders Field Museum in Ieper.
My father was in WW1
I've been having problems with uploading images.
So if they get doubled or what not I apologize.
Lowell


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

I kind of fiddled with this oneI kind of fiddled with this one
I kind of fiddled with this one

The Tram depot in De Haan
Will you still love me when IWill you still love me when I
Will you still love me when I

or was that 64 BTW THATS NOT US!!!!!!!


6th August 2011
I kind of fiddled with this one

tram depot
Thought at first that it was a postcard!
6th August 2011
Will you still love me when I

will you still...
LOVE IT!!!
6th August 2011
Looking out to the North Sea

Looking out...
But no one is facing the sea!
12th August 2011
Will you still love me when I

I knew it wasn't you!!
:-) You look SO much younger than that. Love you!!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb