Luxe to Brugge - chocoholic safari (not yet)


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » West Flanders » Bruges
September 29th 2010
Published: September 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Brugge area


the chocs of Bruggethe chocs of Bruggethe chocs of Brugge

with plenty more just in that street
well this was largely a travel day so not a lot to say (famous last words). Got up at 7.15am to say good bye to A&M before they went off to work - then promptly went back to bed for a while. I had decided to get the virtually hourly train from Luxembourg to Bruxelle at 11.20 so had to repack the bag with washing and stuff - had thrown in 2 lots of minor washes along with other stuff they were doing at the time - ya gotta keep ahead of it on teh road or it really becomes a chore (just done some more as it happens in Brugge). The only place where I can countenacne someone doing it (and me paying for it) is India where at least they only charge 1-1.50$ a piece or something - and iron/press it to billy-o for nothing as part of the service!

Although I thought my bus 4 was at a certain time (they are every 15 mins anyway) it was not, but only a short wait and at station in Luxe with 20 mins to spare. Had bought the ticket yesterday and as it is an unreserved service not
Hotel AcademieHotel AcademieHotel Academie

more like this please
a problem - so had time to buy a filled roll of parma-type ham and "fresh cheese" which was quite nice - why is bread not like this at home?? The train was an IC (intercity) but not an express and seemed to stop at every town which is why it takes 3 hrs almost to Bruxelle Nord - where I crossed the platfrom for the 1 hr trip to Brugge.

At Brugge was dreading finding myself lost in a spaghetti junction of snaking maze-like streets - took the "modern way" solution - and took a digital picture of the map at the station to compare with reality as I did not have a good map yet. Unlike Trier all the streets seemed clearly named anyway so it proved to be quite a short walk to the Hotel Academie - so short I had gone past it! Its a 4 star hotel alright - normal price is 160E but I got this off Booking.com for 85E per night - which is still 120AUD, a bit rich for me - but there was little under 75-80E in Brugge - on Booking.com anyway. I am now organised for 2 nights here
Brugge canal boatsBrugge canal boatsBrugge canal boats

waiting for youse
and 3 in Brussels so well ahead of the game. And it is easy to get used to "nice" hotels as I found in the Baltic. The wifi is supposedly only in the lobby but as I am in rm102 above it reception seems OK here on laptop, if not the Ipod.

Had a cup of Liptons teabag in the room - plastic cups and cup holders - really, I know they have to wash them but at this price cost-cutting and non-eco approach of plastic annoys me! Wondered how much the cars on cobble stones - and later horse and traps - street noise (I am over it) will annoy me. Then out for a walk to soak up some olde worlde architecture and stuff. Sure is medieval this town - with a helluva lot of chocolate shops in the street going away from the hotel - maybe I can skip breakfast and go directly to chocolate?? They are more for presents etc I think with packaging etc. Saw some de Trooper Belgian choc biscuits and had to compare prices with the Dulwich Hill supermarket - 2.80E plays Dullo $4.20 - mmm, the same in their country of origin.

Did a bit of a general walk to the churches up the road so to speak - see pix. Then along thru the shopping streets - am getting a bit over medieval towns being turned into pure merchandising! But I suppose where the tourist crowds go business will follow. As really had nothing since 11am to eat decided dinner was a relative priority. Decided on resto at 't Putje, which is also a hotel I think.

Although the prospect of eel stewed in Noilly Prat/or green veges sounded interesting from the a la carte menu decided on the chef's suggestion for the day for 32E. While I was deciding what to go with had a kir royale. A little appetiser was some tiny tiny prawns with a swirl of pumpkin puree I think in the shape of a fish. Then 3 fried scallops with a cauliflower puree. Then the main which I thought was a bit out there, as mostly fishy stuff around here. Anyway I have never had partidge, so now have. Two halves roasted and about the size of quail, served with "candied chicory and potato straws". At least the very fine straws made a change from "chips with everything" to quote Mr A Wesker the Brit "kitchen sink" dramatist in the 60's. Then a rather nice warm chocolate brulee. And of course as they had no wine by the glass - and I was not going to attack a half bottle of wine after the kir royale - had a Belgian beer. Went eeny miney mo - and picked that attached -a real man's beer at 9% - one will do I think!

After that walked around some more - some fine rain had started so raised the hood on the jacket and checked out dinner prospects elsewhere for tomorrow night (no, you will have to wait for that one). The first two real restos I saw shocked me with prices - entrees at 25E and mains ard 45-50E! - however one of them offered a 3 course lunch for 35E so might give that a try the day I leave.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Brugge 't Zand sculptureBrugge 't Zand sculpture
Brugge 't Zand sculpture

by gray daylight
Brugge 't Zand sculpture/fountainBrugge 't Zand sculpture/fountain
Brugge 't Zand sculpture/fountain

looked better at night - strange cyclist?
what real men drink with dinnerwhat real men drink with dinner
what real men drink with dinner

9% beer! yikes - that's what "tripel" means! no wonder the moon is on it having a noddy


30th September 2010

9% and Choces.
Hi Mike, Hotel Academie looked beaut, so is the price. Chocolate street, looked plenty there for the girls. Cyclist photo was superb, love the 9% beer photo! Love Huddo.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb