Wellington 2 Waterloo


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Walloon Brabant » Waterloo
September 24th 2013
Published: November 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We were sent on our way early Tuesday morning last week by none other than David Cameron and arrived in Waterloo on Thursday evening – received by the British Ambassador – with plenty of pomp and ceremony along the way.







It was a real challenge – and by lunchtime on day 1 I had cycled further than ever before in one go (40 miles)!







The total distance I covered over the 3 days was 255 miles.



An average of 85 miles per day and overall average speed of around 14mph.



18 hours were spent in the saddle (and don’t I know it).



My top speed was 39.4 mph (down a very steep hill in Kent).



I had 3 punctures on day 1, 1 on day 2, and was incident free from then on.



I fell off once at a standstill 9 miles from the finish – forgetting to unclip my feet from the pedals (I was quite tired at this stage)!



I probably consumed 500 energy bars, gels, bananas, during the course of the event – and a few cheeky smokes (not whilst riding though)



I drank 4 beers over the four days – and was in very early each night!







A fantastic event overall – truly memorable and if given the chance would do it again tomorrow…..







Thank you all for your kind support. A few more donations to come in, but I have raised more than I ever thought possible – in excess of £2700. Just in case anyone has forgotten the link it is here – and open for a few more weeks







http://www.justgiving.com/Nick-Griffith







This will be of immediate benefit to those who have made a far bigger sacrifice than me over the course of the ride – thank you.


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



28th November 2013

Good effort mate, and a great cause!

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 9; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb