Goshdarn this dumb keyboqrd


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Liège Province » Liège
January 21st 2006
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bonsoir,

You have no idea how bizarre the belgium keyboard is. You have to press shift to type a number, about half the keys are in the same place, but then the other half is all over the friggin place (the "q" is where the "a" is supposed to be, so if I mess up a lot with that you know why), and I canùt figure out how to type the "at" key. Every time I want to type it I have to copy and paste it from elsewhere. If you only knew how long it is taking to type this.

I'm in Liege, which is about a stones throw over the Belgium border from Maastricht. I came over this afternoon with Jesse and his mom, they were already planning to come here to visit a museum, and the timing worked out so I came too. We went into "mad musée" which displays art by people with mental disorders. It was very eerie. There were a couple paintings that I'd look at and I'd have to shiver. People with mental illness are sometimes in a completely different world from us, and we cannot understand what the world is like through their eyes. These paintings are snapshots into their minds, or shadows showing the shape of something. There was one collage/painting that I looked at for about ten minutes, and I couldn't get myself to look away; it chilled me to the bone but I couldn't explain why, there was no specific thing about it that chilled me but the combination of everything on the board or canvas and the colours and the shapes and the photos all together... I know it's going to haunt me for a while. Jesse's mom didn't even want to get close to that one, saw it across the room and said nuh-uh. Even from a distance it had that feeling.

After that we came over to the train/bus station. My bus to London doesn't leave til 9, and Jesse had to head back to Maastricht, but we stood in front of the station and had true Belgium Waffles before they left. MMmmmm waffles so yummy. It was around 5ish so I went to a turkish deli (they're everywhere) and had a wrap; now I'm at a webcafe killing time before I leave. I have to say this is the least comfortable I've felt alone in a city so far. Maybe just because its dark and overcast, but I don't really like it here. Also the train station is really not very nice, and is quite smelly to be honest, and doesn't have a very friendly feeling. It also seems the belgium don't know the meaning of poop-n-scooping because MAN the streets are hazardous here.

I'm a little tired and a little cranky and I could probably use a nap but I'm going to have to settle with some candy and another hour on the computer. My bus leaves at 9pm and gets to London at 6am their time. I have a place to stay for sure, for a little while at least; I'll be about an hour out of London, in Kent. Apparently it's a cute little place on the coast. I'm looking forward to seeing some ocean again, even if it is balmy british waters. I'm going to see what kind of cool Beatles museums I can find while in the UK. I figure they must have a good one somewhere. And one of the housemates wants me to bring back haggis for the house, I cannot fathom why. Urgh.

No pictures of the city because I cant figure out how to upload them to this computer. I will let you all know how the trip goes though, and my adventures in the UK 😊 Take care everyone!

fighting with this keyboard,
-Bev

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb