My first week


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Hainaut » Mons
January 8th 2012
Published: January 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well, I have survived my first week in Belgium. I spent most of the week getting to know the numerous faces in my new unit as well as apartment hunting. I found the perfect apartment in downtown Mons which I am hoping I will be moving into very soon. It has to pass the "American Housing" inspection before I sign my lease.

I have already satisfied some European food cravings this week. I was able to enjoy schnitzel, pommes, kebabs, and various pastries from the boulangeries here. I was introduced to the flower and food market held every Sunday in downtown Mons. Using my fabulous French skills, I was able to order a baguette and homemade butter, petite e sale sil vous plait. I also paid 70 euro cents for two gigantic peppers which made an amazing salad for dinner.

Several lunches have been spent in the "Continental Mess" which is the international mess hall. They serve one soup, entree and salad a day for lunch but it is good and cheap. Best part is they serve beer and wine at lunch. I have developed a new form of "jess's favorite game, international edition" I am currently attempting to identify international uniforms by country and rank.

Then I come to the beer...I have already sampled several local brews. It is hard not too when a can of beer is sold out of vending machines for 60 euro cents. O and I have already had a bottle of Neirstein Reisling (from where I used to live in Germany).

All in all a great week. Can't wait to explore the city more once I get the keys to my new place. FYI, it is a 2 bedroom so I am accepting reservations starting in Feb.

Au Revoir!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb