Food and fire. (Well...food for sure.)


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Flemish Brabant » Leuven
September 28th 2011
Published: September 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

From the kitchenFrom the kitchenFrom the kitchen

There she is. My studenten kamer. (or student room) Score!
My old friend Benjamin Franklin once said, "A house is not a home unless it contains food and fire for the mind as well as the body." I have found all of his views valid ever since I read his quote about the creation of beer being proof of God's love and desire for our happiness. The beer quote and the whole electricity thing. I mean, the man was legit. Anyway, I found food and fire for my body and moved in this past Friday 9/23. My classes began this past Monday, so I've been working on the whole "food & fire for my mind" part too.

Laura and I toured a couple studios before signing our contracts to live in separate studios in the same building. Leuven is situated inside a large traffic circle. Most sraats (streets) are oneway and lead to and from the center of town. Our straat, Tiensestraat, is a oneway leading out toward the circle and we're near the edge. This sets us in between the drinking/dining/shopping center of town and our faculty buildings just outside the circle. All easily bike-able.

Everything is brand new and spiffy. 26 square meters for each of us...
From the windowFrom the windowFrom the window

Another view of my space. I need visitors. It's almost too much space. Very comfy for lil ol' me :)
just a hallway away from one another. I've got a mini fridge, kitchen sink, 2 burner stove, and pantry storage. Each unit came with a twin bed frame, a desk and chair, and also an armoire. I had to purchase the laundry rack, a mattress, and the table pictured. Some here and there things were left for me by a former CSUC and KUL EMMAPA student who is now in Limerick, Ireland working on her second year. So nice to have desk lamps, plates, silverware, cutting board, printer, and glasses from Danielle! I feel very safe and happy in this neighborhood. It should be a great year!

My mailing address is as follows. Please feel free to write. Or show up. Either way, I'd be a happy camper.

Whitney MacDonald
Tiensestraat 251-0004
3000 Leuven
Belgium

Proost,
Whitney


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Elbow greaseElbow grease
Elbow grease

Laura and I found a table a piece at the local second-hand stop in Leuven. We lugged them 1.8km from SPIT (awesome) to our studios. I was wearing wedges. Poor form, MacD.
Birds Eye of BathroomBirds Eye of Bathroom
Birds Eye of Bathroom

Shower, sink, toilet. I can wash my hands while I pee...if I ever wanted to.
Kitchen Kitchen
Kitchen

No freezer, mirco, or oven. Looks like I'll be getting creative whilst cooking with a pot and pan only! :)
I need some artI need some art
I need some art

Hey Matt Werle! Get here and paint me something! Please?


28th September 2011

Love your apartment!
...oh, the possibilities :). It's coming together nicely--how fun to come up with some new wall art! The table is very cute, too. Was wondering exactly how you got the bird's eye view of your bathroom, tho? Hmmm. Maybe I shouldn't ask :). Love you!

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb