Finding Travel Partners


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region
May 29th 2017
Published: May 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Travel partners are hard to find. Someone who is willing to give up thier warm bed, cuddly cat, creature comforts, or a familiar Netflix on Tuesday nights.

I met Ana in a Brussels park and we spent 10 hours wandering town. We ate snails, heard teenagers playing pop songs on brass instruments, watched the sunset, and kissed on the edge of the fountain. The next day I strolled down the airport terminal and text a sporadic offer to continue good times; I messaged her "Come to Mexico". Three weeks later she flew to meet me in Cancun.

Travel partners are hard to find. When a cute one arrives on my birthday, with a half filled school backpack, jet lag, and a passport stamp it's something to take seriously. Ana and I spent the next four weeks traveling from the Caribbean to the Pacific, from tacos pastor to pineapple tamales, from "This is crazy" to "I'm glad you came". She left today flying back to the EU with less items in her bag than when she arrived, and more memories than we hoped.

Travel partners are hard to find. Brussels had a great one.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb