Manneken Pis, Frites & Chocolates


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
October 14th 2008
Published: November 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Town HallTown HallTown Hall

Grand Place
We grabbed the "Map for the Young Travelers" and quickly located a "Frietkot" (fries shack) nearby the hostel. The early morning train ride from Luxembourg to Brussels had left us hungry. Yes, our very first stop in Brussels was a fries shack! The crispy fries with mayonnaise (or curry sauce) were absolutely delicious. Who cares about the fact that they are fattening? As far as I was concerned, I had a insatiable appetite for fries. This marked the beginning of our quest for the best Frietkot in Belgium.

Despite the fact that Brussels is the home of European Union, home of NATO, its landscape was disappointing. I just can't see its beauty through seemly endless construction sites. But, I do have to say, those comic strips painted on buildings were hilarious. Just make you burst into laughter!(I completely regretted not taking any photos. Too busy laughing away)

I was struck by the charm of Grand place. Grand place, just like the its name suggested, was splendid. The architecture of the buildings left me speechless. The decoration was remarkable. It is when I visited sites like this I regret deeply that I can't quite capture its grandioseness with my camera. You just have to be there to appreciate it!

Statue of Liberty to New York is like Manneken Pis to Brussels. I look at it with much amazement. It is a lot smaller than I thought. I know it is small, but I didn't know it is tiny. This lucky boy has more than 600 costumes carefully preserved in the King's House. He also has a personal "stylist" who dresses him. While the dear Manneken Pis is receiving all the spot lights from visitors around the globe, his sister Jenneken Pis, squatting behind a barred cage in an invisible alley, receives almost no attention. (We were the only visitors at that time.)

Okay, I admit that I don't like the cityscape here. But, all it took was chocolates to make me fall all over for Brussels. The truffle from Neuhaus melted in my mouth with layers of taste and texture. Its bitter sweetness almost lifted my feet off the ground. Chocolates from Pierre Marcolini are simply irresistible and luxurious. Brussels is chocolate lovers' heaven. I recall that at this particular intersection, you can find three world-famous chocolatiers: Godiva, Neuhaus and Pierre Marcolini. After tasting these fine chocolates, there is no more room in my heart for Hershey's chocolate bars.

Our Brussels trip ended happily with fries, chocolates and forever changed taste buds.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Manneken PisManneken Pis
Manneken Pis

In his stylish outfit


Tot: 0.3s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb