Three Nights in Brussels, Belgium – WED, 20 JUL 2022 – SAT, 23 JUL 2022


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
July 23rd 2022
Published: July 29th 2022
Edit Blog Post

WED, 20 JUL 2022 TRAIN TO BRUSSELS, BELGIUM: My only experience with the rail system in Europe thus far has been with the high-speed trains (save that last-minute hop aboard before it departs fiasco) and not with the local trains. All of those trains have been staged at the platform awaiting its passengers well before the departure time – in a couple of cases, over thirty minutes early. Retrospectively, all of those trains also have been staged because that particular station was the origin of the train’s journey. Even though the high-speed trains made stops along the way for from two to five minutes, that scenario never even entered my mind for the train that pulled in at my platform over ten minutes before my scheduled departure. I got aboard, found a seat and heard the whistle signaling “the doors will be closing and the train will be departing immediately.” A quick glance at my watch showed it was still almost ten minutes before my scheduled departure. Well, Uncle Larry, you might have goofed up. When the conductor arrived to check my ticket, she confirmed my suspicions but said no worry. This train was going to Blankenberge, Belgium, its final destination (it was either stop in Blankenberge or take a dip in the Atlantic Ocean), and would be on a return run after about 15 minutes. Just stay on the train, Uncle Larry, and you’ll get to Brussels albeit about an hour later than originally scheduled. The taxi ride was uneventful, and the driver cautioned me about pickpockets, especially at night, in this area so heavily populated by tourists – a warning I have heard before but usually offered by the tour guide.

I get to my room, which is totally adequate, but the bed looks slightly different “than that to which I have grown accustom.” There is a light blanket covering an actual top sheet! With only a couple of exceptions, the beds have had a duvet. From Wikipedia, “A duvet, usually called a comforter or quilt in US English, and a doona in Australian English, is a type of bedding consisting of a soft flat bag filled with either down, feathers, wool, cotton, silk, or a synthetic alternative, and is typically protected with a removable cover, analogous to a pillow and pillow case.” I assume (and hope) that the duvet cover is removed and laundered after each customer, but what a pain in the proverbial ass. And I thought the worst part of laundry day was getting the pillows back into the pillow cases! Regardless, there is no way to be less covered on warmer nights. It’s either no cover or smother! I have learned to cover my midsection with one corner of the duvet and then progressively add covering to my thighs, abdomen, feet and chest until I find the right amount of protection from the chill of the night. I’m glad to be back in the top sheet mode. Three Nights – Hotel Le Dome, Brussels, Belgium

THU, 21 JUL 2022 HOUSEKEEPING AND RELAXATION: The front that had created the rain overnight Tuesday/Wednesday kept the skies overcast and produced light drizzle from time to time. That made Thursday a good day to do some more double-checking the upcoming hotel reservations, etc. Besides, 21 JUL is the Belgian National Day (Nationale feestdag van België) commemorating the anniversary of the inauguration of Leopold I as the first King of the Belgians in 1831. Word on the street is that almost everything will be closed on Thursday and many establishments are carrying the holiday over into Friday. I suppose so folks don’t have to lie about their illnesses when they take the unsanctioned day off for a long weekend. In the evening, I stepped out onto the balcony for a breath of cool air and found a tremendous light show on display on the office building across from my hotel – Belfius Bank and Insurance. Trust me, the stills don’t do the display justice. A nice, relaxing way to unwind before bedtime!

FRI, 22 JUL 2022 TOURISM: Just before noon (when the chances for rain were lowest), I set out for Cathedrale St-Michel et Ste-Gudule (St. Michael and St. Gudula Cathedral) and for the Royal Palace of Brussels – a 1.90-mile loop that is within Uncle Larry’s “casual walk” zone. Google Maps first took me to the cathedral, and I was not impressed with this section of Brussels. The infrastructure was in shambles and several homeless folks had set up housekeeping. I got to the church and still was unimpressed. It is nice but nothing spectacular. Perhaps I’ve been spoiled over the past several weeks. Then I set out for the Royal Palace using Google Maps. The neighborhood improved, and I felt a vibrance that I had expected of Brussels but had not yet seen. The area near my hotel is clean but sterile and cold – quaint and charming do not belong in the description.

According to the City of Brussels web site, "It's a tradition: every summer, the Royal Palace opens its doors to the public. From 23 July to 28 August, the palace can be visited free of charge." When do I leave Brussels? That's what I thought. Timing is everything. AND, according to Wikipedia, “The Royal Palace is situated in front of Brussels Park, from which it is separated by a long square called the Place des Palais/Paleizenplein. The middle axis of the park marks both the middle peristyle of the Royal Palace and of the Belgian Federal Parliament building (Palace of the Nation) on the other side of the park.” Wikipedia needs to have a talk with Google Mapsopedia, because the latter took me in a couple of circles before I abandoned the initial goal and just began enjoying the neighborhood and its people. On the way to the Palace, I passed an eatery that got my attention. I’ve been in Belgium almost a week and have had Belgian beer but no Belgian waffle. Complimentary breakfast in Belgian hotels does not include Belgian waffles! What’s up with that? Well, that was about to change – strawberry syrup and strawberry ice cream. Yum, yum!


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

On the Walk to the Cathedral – Brussels, Belgium On the Walk to the Cathedral – Brussels, Belgium
On the Walk to the Cathedral – Brussels, Belgium

All His (or Her) Worldly Possessions


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb