Salzburg


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
September 20th 2011
Published: September 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sorry, no photos here since my camera battery was dead. Anyway, just imagine the sound of music as the place basically does look like that.

I had my first bout of bad weather here as it rained for two days. I did get a nice view of the Alps going on the bus to an ice cavern tour as it was just before the rain started. I can really recommend this tour as it is the largest ice cave in the world and has some really interested shapes forming.

I also recommend seeing the main Fortress/Castle as it is the oldest preserved one in Europe. There is a great audio tour you can take. The views from here are the best in Salzburg. This castle was never taken by force as Salzburg had Salt reserves which were as important as gold in the old days.

Take in this place by just walking around, doing some shopping and taking in the constantly ringing church bells.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb