What happened in Innsbruck...


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
November 10th 2016
Published: October 2nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Snow capped mountainsSnow capped mountainsSnow capped mountains

On our way to Innsbruck - snow capped mountains greeted us all the way
Geo: 47.2627, 11.3947

Oh boy Innsbruck, what just happened? I'm writing this and written the previous blog half drunk. So I'll probably have to go back and make changes later on.

The night started innocently enough. The trip to Innsbruck was spectacular. On the way in, there were magnificent views of the snow capped mountains. Our driver, and I almost told him to, was tempted to turn off somewhere to go to a ski resort but our guide kept him on the straight and narrow.

After our arrival to the hotel, we went straight for a stroll around old town Innsbruck. When it's old town, it is old town. The buildings were old but magnificent. We saw the Golden Roof of Innsbruck. And it really is golden with its tiles made out of gold.

The world's largest Swarovski shop is in Innsbruck and we took a tour there. Myself, I was quite impressed with what was in there. They even had a collection where Jean Paul Gauthier collaborated with Swarovski and made a collection of clothes. Three floors of Swarovski and we were done.

Our night activity was a Tyrolean Evening with Dinner. Dinner was Wiener Schnitzel...again. I just had that for lunch but it was
Old InnsbruckOld InnsbruckOld Innsbruck

The famous Golden Roof...there's a story behind that, I just don't remember now
slightly different. Thinner and served with cranberry sauce, which added some flavour to it. The waitress at the joint, a lady by the name of Manuella...she's the most mental waitress I've come across. She served us beer. The beer came in 500mls glasses so it was fine to drink it.

Then some of us, including me, ordered 2nds...not sure if it was a good idea....the next beer was a large one with the contents easily measuring more than 1L. All good, by the end of the evening, that was gone. One lady in our group was worried about the size, so she asked for the same sized beer as the original. Manuella came out with beer in a shot glass! Only when she finished that beer that she was given her proper beer.

After dinner, we had the Tyrolean show. It was quite entertaining with the performers doing the traditional dances, songs and even some yodelling, which I'm hopeless at. I think a few of us are smashed, including me a little bit...and I have a little presentation to the group tomorrow. Each of us in the group tells a story about themselves and tomorrow's my turn. It should be interesting.

When I'm
Old InnsbruckOld InnsbruckOld Innsbruck

Old Innsbruck getting ready for Christmas
sober, and if I remember, I may add more stuff in the last couple of entries.

Until tomorrow!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Swarovski storeSwarovski store
Swarovski store

Winnie the Pooh made of Swarovski crystals


Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb