Sunday, December 7 - Vienna


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna
December 7th 2014
Published: December 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Cafe Mozart, ViennaCafe Mozart, ViennaCafe Mozart, Vienna

Mozart Kaffee, double Espresso with Mozart liqueur and whipped cream.
I’m actually 2 days behind, but for now I'll go straight into today. My travel partners left this morning, so I'm on my own now for the rest of my trip. I'm staying in Vienna again tonight, so I started my day off slow. I found my way to the Café Mozart where I had coffee and a torte.



After a quick back and forth to my hotel for headphones so I could do the Rick Steve's walking tour of Vienna on my phone, I finally begged a free pair from a tour bus! Headphone story: I always carry several pairs in my bag but decided on only two pair for this trip. The ones that came with my iPhone and a Bluetooth pair. I broke the iPhone ones on the flight over and my Bluetooth ones are not charged and I don't have a charger wire for them! Argh! Like I said though I begged a pair from a tour bus and I was in business. The walking tour was pleasant and informative except for the constant rain. It wasn't a downpour, but a constant drizzle, so I was happy I brought my little umbrella! I ended up at the Hofburg Palace so I took the Treasury tour. The Habsburgs were an incredibly wealthy family and this museum surely shows it! Rick Steves on the Treasury: “The Habsburgs saw themselves as the successors to the ancient Roman emperors, and they wanted crowns and royal regalia to match the pomp of the ancients. They used these precious objects for coronation ceremonies, official ribbon- cutting events, and their own personal pleasure. You’ll see the prestigious crowns and accoutrements of the rulers of the Holy Roman Empire (a medieval alliance of Germanic kingdoms so named because it wanted to be considered the continuation of the Roman Empire). Other crowns belonged to Austrian dukes and kings, and some robes and paraphernalia were used by Austria’s religious elite. And many costly things were created simply for the enjoyment of the wealthy (but not necessarily royal) Habsburgs.” There were also religious articles including many relics, including a couple of thorns from Jesus’s crown of thorns and many pieces of the cross. I'm not sure if they're authentic or not, but they date from the early, early ages. I've included some pictures I found on the internet from the Treasury because I didn't take
Capuchin Church - Kaisergruft, Vienna Capuchin Church - Kaisergruft, Vienna Capuchin Church - Kaisergruft, Vienna

Under the church sits the Imperial Crypt, filled with what’s left of Austria’s emperors, empresses, and other Habsburg royalty.
any myself. I chose to just enjoy the items and not worry about getting the right shots!



By the time I left the Treasury, it was dark. It gets dark here between 4 and 4:30 so it wasn't that late, but it was time to get some fabulous photos of the streets of Vienna at night. Vienna is beautiful during the day, but once the sun sets, this city comes alive! I re-walked the pedestrian areas of the old town and used the GoPro to film the scenery. I also took some still photos as well, so I'm including some of those here.

I am currently eating at the little restaurant next to my hotel and it is fantastic! I started with a Sour Milk Soup and my entrée is an Onion Tarte with mushrooms over spinach. I think I'll skip dessert and have another Weitra Brau Beir. They let me take the beer mug back to my hotel if I promise to return it! Which I do, of course!

Today was not a long day but after the organized tours and activities of the cruise, which I LOVED, by the way, I needed a
Hofburg PalaceHofburg PalaceHofburg Palace

Entrance into the historic core of the palace and site of the first fortress.
bit of an off day.

I'm hitting the rail tomorrow and taking the train back to Salzburg…..I think. That's my plan right now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



7th December 2014

Traveling alone?
Hey gal, how long are you traveling alone? Get to Prague if at all possible.

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb