i love this place


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna
March 12th 2010
Published: March 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

290290290

i could live here.
last night was awesome.

shortly after i posted last night, i decided to just get out and go do something. there was a cocktail party at the bar in our main dormatory complex. i went alone and just figured i would meet all the other students (both webster and other students). i had myself a cheap long island iced tea and it was soo good! plus, i hadnt eaten at all (like always) and i think you can figure out what happened because of that 😊

i was just standing around and met a cool girl named Dominika from Slovakia. she speaks awesome english and we talked for a long time. the drinks kept coming and we all played pool, table soccer, and met a bunch of people that live here. so hopefully we will all remember each other the next time we meet up haha. everyone was really cool and spoke english and said i had an accent...obviously. i found it hard to talk about america a lot. there really isnt anything fun for europeans to do out there...especially if they arent 21. but they all liked talking about new york and L.A! so that was cool. i
291291291

gloriette
could put my 2 cents in on those conversations. did i mention i got a free drink at the bar? 😊

i hit the hay probably around 12:30/1. we have to register with the police when we get here so they know who we are, where we live, things like that. we had to meet our R.A at 7:30 in the morning and i knew it would be rough for me to get up. plus, everyone smokes everywhere and my eyes were hurting so bad! it was really gross.

so we registered and then came back to the dorms.

ok. im gonna admit that i was bumming most of the morning. im pretty sure i know why and it is really really stupid and i just need to face reality sometimes. i let little thigns get to me and then i instantly resort back to being homesick. so i put my ipod in, watched some superbad (which always brings me back to my living room couch with chris and drew 😊 ) and then i fell asleep.

i woke up to my dad calling me on skype and he talked me out of my slump again.
343343343

Vienna
like always 😊

i litterally rushed and packed my little backpack and gathered up my camera and took off. i have been studying vienna all semester. i know all kinds of places to go and things to do. i also have a really good map of the ubon (underground) and the tram, and a book of Top 10 places in Vienna in all sorts of categories. so i was ready. i headed out to the Schonbrunn. (The former summer residence of the imperial Habsburg family). it was incredible! and i got there with no problem at all. i think all that practice in new york this summer helped.

but i just listened to my ipod and explored this amazing palace and it just hit me how beautiful this place really is. im so lucky to be here and i felt really dumb for cyring haha. i should cry cuz its awesome! when i was done with the palace grounds and its park, i headed down some street by it to explore. i had the best Apple stroodle/pastry thing ever! it was so good.

then i headed to this market called Naschmarkt. its a lot like the soulard
299299299

fountain that had a lot of ducks and birds around it
market downtown. its huge. a ton of veggies, fruit, meat, fish, all kinds of goodies. i even got free food from a middle eastern guy. i bought some hummus, grape leave things, cheese stuffed things, and bread. he gave me free olives that would make my dad cry.

the cold weather and the snow started getting to me so i headed back to the dorms. i think we are all gonna go out and get mexican? im jsut going for the ride 😊

ps...funny story...i was walking with this huge bottle of water/juice and some green beans, and my grocery back gave out...i didnt think that happened in real life. just in really awful movies.

pss..i have decided to try and stay away from skype and my phone and facebook as much as i can. i love talking to everyone, but the more i do, the more i get bummed out. i just need a while to get a grip on where i am and how i feel. i mean, ill be back...and im sure you guys will all be there. so i love you all! i will still be reachable, just not as often.

enjoy my pictures!!!
love u guys.





Additional photos below
Photos: 61, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

320320
320

its so pretty
350350
350

vienna skyline
321321
321

palace again
324324
324

fountain at the bottom of the gloriette
353353
353

gloriette
227227
227

yyya....that map didnt help me at all
329329
329

zoo entrance
354354
354

gloriette
330330
330

back of the fountain
251251
251

front stairs
236236
236

the front door to the palace
336336
336

me stading on top of the fountain


12th March 2010

I love you very much young lady Daddy
13th March 2010

love you!
HAVE FUN!!! The pics are awesome- I am proud of you (and envious)!!! LOVE YOU> 29
13th March 2010

I'm so happy to see you enjoy yourself. I feel much better now.
14th March 2010

have fun
just have fun and enjoy yourself. Wish I could be there. love ya bunches. ni-ni
15th March 2010

don't forget
Don't forget that all we do our WHOLE LIVES LONG is move from one piece of holy ground to the next. Thank you so much for sending me the link to your blog, so I can follow you as you do just that. Don't forget how loved you are, and make the most of every experience. I love you, you sweet thing!
17th March 2010

Pics are awesome! Glad you are having fun!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb