Hit the Ground Running!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna
December 22nd 2019
Published: December 22nd 2019
Edit Blog Post

Whew...what a flight! Actually, the flight from Portland to Amsterdam was quiet good...long, but good. Maybe got a couple hours of sleep. However, the noise cancelling headphones are a must for travel. Since I went through immigration in Amsterdam, I didn't have to go through it when I landed in Vienna. I will say that I was a bit concerned and nervous to just walk out after retrieving my luggage. I even asked a porter if it was alright. So I got funny looks to start off my adventure but whatever!

My driver was waiting at the end of a long que but so glad I splurged and had a car waiting...why you ask? Well, it was pouring buckets of rain and I didn't have to worry about figuring out the public transportation! Off we went to the hotel...

I am staying at the Ruby Sophia and what a find! It is a quirky, musical themed boutique hotel. And, the staff here are very gracious. I was able to check in early and get situated before heading off to my cooking class!

I signed up to learn how to make Kasespatzle...Traditional Cheese Noodles. Uber came and picked me up to get me there...love Uber...

I was one of six that signed up. A gentleman from Kansas who now lives in Cairo, two young ladies from Germany and a couple from DC all gathered around Beatrice's table to cook and eat. This simple dish was easy and delicious...I am going to have to try and make it at home. Great thing is, she gave out recipe cards!

I was supposed to hit the Christmas Market tour right after the cooking class...but remember the buckets of rain? Well, it had not stopped so my tour guide and I decided to tour the next day instead. Flexibility is key!

Back I went to the hotel and boy did I crash! Jet lag is no joke...but I slept well.

Sunday is marked off to meet up with my old boss (crazy how we are both here!) Market tour and another cooking class!

Stay tuned...


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb