Music Trip


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
April 28th 2005
Published: April 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Have arrived, exhausted and sick, but on the mend hopefully. Am learning yet another keyboard arrangement after Ive learned the Italian one: i.e. Sorry for the lack of apostrophes.

I cant get over how beautiful the IES palace is in Vienna. Ceilings, floors (thought of you, mom), staircases, everything. And then of course the city itself is beautiful in a kind of delicate, fairy-tale, royal, and above all CLEAN way. I had to laugh when I got here and started walking around, realizing how incredibly different from Milano it is. And then I tried to stare down traffic and cross the street, as Ive learned to do so well, and nearly got mowed down. At least they dont seem to have as many Vespas. I dont have enough digits left to count my near-death-by-Vespa experiences.

Now were using a few precious internet minutes while we wait to be taken to an "authentic Viennese dinner." College student translation: free food. College student buying euros with her measly dollars translation: FREE FOOD for the LOVE OF GOD!!

A chuckle moment: hearing people here talk about ball season like Alaskans talk about moose season. Apparently they start teaching waltz and table manners in primary school. Im now determined to come back and go to a ball...sounds like a ridiculously romantic thing to do.

An apology for how behind I am with my blogs-Im trying to spend mz last bit of time walking around Milan, not transcribing from my journal in a musty computer room. So, when Im back, there will be an influx of entries, and finally pictures when I have a program that can shrink them to manageable size. I might try sending a few to Trevor to shrink and post, but who knows. Until I may see you again, everybody take care!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Crying LionCrying Lion
Crying Lion

A tomb in the Augustiner Kirche
Wedding at the AugustinerkircheWedding at the Augustinerkirche
Wedding at the Augustinerkirche

Ok. So I felt like the paparazzi taking this one...(the hats were freaking amazing)
Music kidsMusic kids
Music kids

The gang after the IES concert. Clockwise from top left: Kate, me, Claudia (?), Glenn, Victoria, Joan, Catherine, Carra, and David
Catherine, me, after concertCatherine, me, after concert
Catherine, me, after concert

Susanna and Cherubino


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb