Worst blogger ever soz!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
September 9th 2012
Published: September 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

WOW I´m not very good at this blog thing.. Been having too much fun in the last few months to find the time!! So here´s a run down of where I´ve been since my last post..

Ireland - Belfast, Galway, Dublin

France - Paris, Nice

Portugal - Lagos, Lisbon

Spain - Barcelona, Ibiza

Greek Islands - Santorini, Ios, Mykonos

Croatia - Dubrovnik, SAIL CROATIA for 7 nights on the coast, Split

Italy - Rome, Florence, Cinque Terre, Venice

And NOW I´m in Vienna, Austria! Just came from Salzburg. After Venice, I split up from Ash so now am travelling by myself. I will meet the others at Oktoberfest in a few weeks!

I have seen so much and have so many stories but as I don´t want to be typing for days here are my highlights of each place.

Ireland - My highlight of Ireland was the day trip to the Cliffs of Moher. Absolutely breathtaking views!! Was very excited to learn that one of the scenes from The Half Blood Prince was filmed there!

France - I didn´t have great expectations for Paris because of what other people had thought of it. However I LOVED it. I was a very busy girl in those 4 days making sure I missed nothing! Versailles palace, the tour to Montmarte, the lourve, the eiffel tower, the catacombes.. all was amazing! Also tried the éscargot (snails) and they werent bad at all!! Nice was nice. The water was so blue but the pebbles on the beach pissed us all off. Had to wear thongs in the water. Did a day trip to Monaco which was very cool.

Portugal - LAGOS! Loveeeed Lagos. Beautiful beaches, cheap, great restaurants and pubs what is not to love about that!! Did a cliff walk on one of the days.. the most stunning coast line you could imagine! Our favourite place to go in Lagos was a place called Casa Rosa. 10 euro for a meal (delicious food) PLUS all you can drink for one hour! They call it the hour of power.. we definitely made the most of the jugs of sangria!!

Spain - Barcelona was fantastic. The highlight was probably La Sagrada Familia.. a church that was built in 1880 and is STILL under construction. It was beautiful inside! It was designed by Gaudi who pretty much designed all of Barcelona´s attractions. The Gaudi park was very impressive and had amazing views of the city. At our hostel they cooked dinner for free every night. One night we had traditional Spanish omelette. It was delicious! Definitely making it when I get home. Ibiza was awesome.. very expensive but worth it! The hightlight of Ibiza was the top 3 club in the world pascha. It was flower power night and everyone dressed as hippies and they played 60s and 70s music so beetles, cher.. all the classics!!

Greek Islands - Santorini was as beautiful as you imagine. We stayed at a lovely hotel with a nice pool so most of the days were spent sunbaking and swimming! One night we went to a winery and watched the sunset.. the views were incredible! Took a cazillion photos. Another night we went to Fira and did the donkey ride OMG most fun ever!!! We were all in hysterics when our donkies would bolt past the others. Was quite scary at times being so close to the cliffs! LOVED Ios.. the nightlife was so fun. Great bars and clubs. Did a jet boat tour one day and did an 8m cliff jump into the water. When I saw the cliff I said oh that looks easy. Then when I got up there I took AGES to finally jump haha. Main highlight of Greece though - spinach pies. I ate them every day!!

Croatia - Sail Croatia was the best week of the trip, best week of my life!!! Had soo much fun. Met so many new friends. We had a boat of 18 and all got along so well. 10 aussies including us and 8 kiwis. 7 nights sailing Croatia´s beautiful coast line.. boat stops during the day where we would all jump off and swim.. the beautiful Croatia water.. drinking ciders and having a 3 course lunch every day... ahh I miss it so much!! We had lots of fun nights out clubbing but the best night was in Dalmatia where we went to a cave bar and all dressed up as pirates! Everyone dresses up as something to do with the sea. Stayed up most mornings till 7-8am just sitting up on the deck haha lost my voice after 4 days!! It came back when me and ash went tubing and I forced out the screams!

Italy - Lots of highlights of Italy. Mainly the gelato which I ate every day haha. It was beyond amazing!! Loved the sights of Rome especially the Colosseum!! Did a day trip to Pisa on my birthday and went to the leaning tower.. me and ash took so many photos we were both getting frustrated at how many attempts it was taking to get a good photo .. the classic photo of holding up the tower.. harder than it looks haha. On my birthday night we went out for dinner and had a florentine steak.. 1kg steak between us haha it was sooo nice! Then we did a pub crawl which i got on for free 😉. Cinque Terre was my favourite place in Italy by far, and definitely up there with favourite places on the trip. We stayed in the village Vernazza.. adorable little town!! I can´t put into words how beautiful it was. The coloured houses with the washing hanging out the front, the restaurants along the water.. everyone there is so relaxed! We did the trail walk between the 5 towns which was EXHAUSTING going up the steep hills but soo worth it. The views were incredible. Venice was a bit smelly but the highlight was the gondola ride. I did it with 3 girls I met at the hostel - 2 girls from Perth and one from the States. They were all lovely. Our gondola driver was named Fabio and he was so funny! He was singing and photo bombing all our pictures.

Austria - I haven´t explored Vienna yet.. Salzburg was beautiful!! The train ride there was amazing. I have never seen so much green in my life! Had the BEST views of the mountains! I did the sound of music tour yesterday which was awesome. Saw so many of the film locations!! I still have all the songs in my head!!... Will be getting my julie andrews on with the kids at school when i get back for sure!! I caught up with a girl I met in Florence.. Her name is Steph. We caught a cable car up to the mountain Unsternberg, more incredible views and photos!!! We went out for dinner and had wiener schnitzels yum yum! Then we had some drinks at the hostel with a male friend we made from England. We went out last night and I am VERY tired today!!!!!

After Austria I do Prague, Berlin, Hamburg, a Rhine Valley cruise, then Munich for Oktoberfest, England, Thailand, then HOME in 6 weeks and a bit! Starting to get excited to return home. Missing you all lots!

Lots of love to you all xoxox

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb