Italian shnitzel and Oktoberfest prep


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
September 17th 2010
Published: September 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I must first apologize, dear readers, this post will not only be short - but rather frivolous in content.

I spent much of this week relaxing and enjoying time to myself to just lie in bed. I had put off a few chores throughout the week, like laundry and ironing, and it was also time for such heart-breaking manual labour. But, Alas! It is now complete!

I went out to eat two dinners this week - one was with Eliza, the other with a group of interns. Both with slightly disappointing endings.

Eliza and I wanted to FINALLY try WienerShnitzel, the famous Vienna shnitzel. Aka, veal (or pork or chicken) battered in bread crumbs and fried. While searching for a restaurant we got approached by a waiter at a restaurant and he asked if we wanted to eat there. We said that we just wanted good Shnitzel, and asked if they served it, he said "of course we do!" Good... things are going well at this point.

We order an Anti-pasti to begin our meal, full of 'sauted peppers, mushrooms, etc" and when we got our anti-pasti... it was alll cold. It had been sauted earlier in the day, then refridgerated and put directly onto a plate. It did not "amuse la bouche", as anti-pasti's are supposed to do! Next came our Shnitzel... a piece of smashed down veal... without any breadcrumbs in sight... served in a sauce.

Well... this isn't WienerShnitzel... this is Veal Scalloppini. They are nothing a like! Well... we ate it anyways since we were starving, paid and left. It was a good meal, but since we were on a mission for wienershnitzel... not impressed. We ended our little date at AIDA for a dessert and coffee. I had the espresso-whip cream with a somethingtorte. 😊

My other meal was last night. The place was suggested to us by an intern from Norway. So, the three Canadian interns as well as two interns from Norway and Denmark all met up there. The place was small, but nice. A nice mix between chic and cumfy. We started with a round of beer until all 5 of us showed up. For me, dinner began with Leberknoddelsuppe (once again - the liver dumpling soup)... it was not the best. There were giant chunks of bread, and was not shreddded. I've now had that suppe at about 4 different places, and this was probably the worst yet. But for dinner I ate the WienerShnitzel... and bam! This was what I was looking for. Though it was pork and not veal, it was so devine on many different levels. and the salad that came with it (much like my first ever potato salad on the first day of my trip)... delicious. I can't say more than that... Ess Kulture was the name of the place. If you go to vienna, eat the shnitzel there.

I then decided to press my luck (tie break right?) and went for a dessert with some sherry. the dessert was far too heavy for me. And the intern from Denmark agreed. A dough (think beavertails) wrapped around a plum that has been cooked/soaked in alcohol and chocolate. Then powedered sugar/chocolate all on top of it, and a mound of whipped cream. It wasn't even that delicious because of the strong flavours and overall heavyness that was coming after beer, potato salad, and shnitzel... not a good combination. And the sherry was some of the worst I've ever had... if you are only going to have one kind of sherry.. .at least make it a good one?

So, disappointing ends to some fairly good meals. But what are you going to do? Besides that, I made a delicious tortellini at home which spread over 3 meals, and a delicious Beef Stew which lasted 5 meals. All of that is gone now, and it's time for me to head out and buy some groceries with Eliza. Time to cook some more 😊

As for Oktoberfest - it's really just a side note. I have now bought my train tickets to the infamous Oktoberfest, which I just found it is actually celebrating it's 200th year!! Woot woot, what a time to be in europe! Tickets are bought, and I found a free place to stay (Go Bishops!!). Now, I just need to start practicing (just kidding).

So, until next time...
Chow!

Advertisement



17th September 2010

1. I'm not kidding about the Oktoberfest practicing. You put up better drinking numbers than me at Bish so I guess you've earned your stripes :P 2. I think that's a local/central European way of serving Antipasto. Had that same crap in Berlin haha

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb