Urban Camping... in Vienna!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
August 16th 2009
Published: September 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

We have done quite a few city breaks since we have been living in London, but never have we had a city break in a van. It’s not really something that we have considered - how do you camp in a city?

Our answer was found in the amazing campground we found only about 3 or 4 miles out from the centre of Vienna. Huge pitches, spotless facilities and loads of trees. All this was helped by easy access into the centre via bus and a two minute walk to the supermarket. Easy!

We found Vienna of course, to be a beautiful city. Great architecture, nice shopping, beautiful cathedrals and miles of nice restaurants - but in two nights we could hardly do it justice! Being the middle of August, it was absolutely boiling but we did our best to explore the flea market, the old town, the museum quarter and the castle grounds. I was shattered to find that the horses were are on holiday so we couldn’t see a performance or training session at the famous ‘Spanish Riding School’ I guess this saved us a couple of hundred euro but I was still pretty peeved! The closest we got was the gift shop and café. The building itself was stunning. I can’t believe they allow horses inside!




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Public space in Vienna. Public space in Vienna.
Public space in Vienna.

Reminds me of Kew Gardens.
Quite possibly the best ice cream I have ever eaten.Quite possibly the best ice cream I have ever eaten.
Quite possibly the best ice cream I have ever eaten.

And I should know. I've eaten a few.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb