Vien of Austria, Vienna


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
May 4th 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Finally a dream come true... Destination Europe! Wow!!! I never thought I could ever afford this but now I truly believe that money is just the state of mind. Places that I just heard of and imagined in my dreams but this time around, it was a reality. A grand tour to 3 cultural paradise of Europe; Austria, Germany and France.

Here it is, my first destination Vienna, a cultural haven, with a district full of art museums, theatres, palaces, churches and endless greenery. Oh! It was so beautiful even at temperatures below 10 degrees and I’m still surprised on how I managed to survive the winter wonder land! Walking through the snowfalls on the street corners, trees, valleys made me feel as though I am part of some Hollywood film as I have seen such scenic views only in movies.

Something that would certainly take your breath away is the Schonnbrunn Palace. The palace is a little bit out of the city (or was it my hotel???), but it's worth the trip. On a nice day (without rain/ winters) you can enjoy not only the palace itself, but also the surrounding park. Together with the ticket they give you a free audio guide and it takes about 40 minutes to go around the 22 rooms and listen to their stories. The interior of the palace is really amazing and the information provided by the audio guide is outstanding. After you done here, you can go out and walk and get lost inside the park or walk up the hill and enjoy the palace view from the Gloriette. There is also the oldest zoo (Tiergarten) in the world in the palace grounds and BTW, you don't find Panda's here! Architectural landmarks such as the gothic St. Stephen's Cathedral shouldn't be missed as well!




Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb