Vienna


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
August 18th 2007
Published: April 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I love vienna.. I didn't think I would, but I think it's a very underrated place. I've been fortunate enough to have been to vienna twice, the first time was to visit my friend stephanie. I wanted to visit her in austria, and vienna seemed like a convenient place to meet up.




When we had went, we went to go see 2 museums in vienna: the kunsthistoriches, and the belvedere. the kunsthistoriches is the historical art museum, while I wanted to go to the belvedere to see the gustav klimt exhibit. (i LOVE gustav klimt) I remember the kunsthistoriches had some paintings by caravaggio. the belvedere i remember has slightly more modern art.



Both museums were MASSIVE.. both were gigantic palaces probably going back to the days of the hapsburg empire. Vienna is a really cool city b.c it has these contrasts of old castles, and modern buildings. And while the subway closes sometime around midnight, there are always night buses & trams.. I remember the 1st night we were in Vienna, we had gone to this bar (i think it was called 'the beach'), where it was an outdoor bar set up right on the danube river bank. What was so cool about it was that they created like a little sandy beach, and you could sit on beach chairs and enjoy your cocktail right by the river. And also you could order snacks.




and i LOVE austrian food.. LOVE IT.. i didn't think i would but i do.. everytime i go i have to have goulash; the meats and the potatoes and MMMmmmMmm...




my 2nd trip to vienna was a lot more sad.. it was saying goodbye to friends right before i went back to the US.. but i love it and i hope to go back again.. now vienna is honestly 1 of my favorite places in europe..





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

riding the viennese subwayriding the viennese subway
riding the viennese subway

*stephanie looking very sexy*
the danube river at night..  the danube river at night..
the danube river at night..

and there's a swimming pool set into the river! how cool..!!


Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1161s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb