The Last One


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Styria » Graz
June 29th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

SchlossbergSchlossbergSchlossberg

One last time...
Here it is, the one I've been dreading, the one to end this wild ride. It's hard for me to believe that I'm leaving Graz in 7 hours, and won't be soon returning. It's truly leaving home to go home.

The last few days, weeks, months, I don't think I could ever put them into words. I've tried my best to keep you guys updated, to share my experiences with you, but even then, my words often fell short. I've seen sights of breath-taking beauty, I've been startled by scenes of bruteness. I've found myself in several sticky situations, and somehow managed to finagle my way out. I've conquered the Alps by foot, bike, ski, raft, car, bus, and plane. I've lain in a field on the side of the mountain as the bells of the church rang, and I of course thought of The Sound of Music. I've travelled north, south, east, and west, and most importantly, I wouldn't change a thing.

My time in Austria has changed my life. I've been away now for 10 months, though have been lucky enough to have been visited by family. I've surrounded myself with people who have truly become family. This has been the year of my life where I've learnt the most, not a drop of which came from school. The friendships I've made are those to last a lifetime, of that I'm sure. It's a different kind of friendship, we had to work for it. We had to want that friendship so much, that we pushed ourselves to move forward in a language not our own, just to be able to communicate with each other. I've learnt more about myself, what I'm capable of, what I can handle, how smart I am, and I've pushed myself to new physical, emotional, social, and personal limits.

This week has been full of that happy-sad feeling, that one you get where you're devastated at the thought of saying goodbye, though comforted by the fact that the others are just as devastated, making you realize the impact you've had on them. It's unbelievably sad to leave behind this wonderful little city I call home, though uplifting to remember that I'll be returning to family.

I don't have much else to say, I don't think I'll ever be able to describe things perfectly. I know everyone will expect me to have a big flourishing answer as to how my "trip" was, and I know that such an answer will never exist. The only word I can put on it, as cliche as it might seem, would be perfect.

I guess now it's just time to bid my final adieu to my favorite city in the world, though take comfort in the true meaning of the German goodbye, "until the next sight," and thus, auf Wiedersehen, Graz, wir sehen uns bald.

Advertisement



30th June 2009

Thank you for sharing your great adventure! Your details and pictures were exquisite and brought me to places I only dream of. Please save me a signed copy once you're published! Welcome home.
1st July 2009

I'm so happy you've had such an experience - now travel to this home safely!
4th July 2009

Didn't think you were going to have time to write the last blog but it was very nice and I am so proud of you and what you have done and experienced. I wish I could have gone over to visit! One week from today and you will be home! Can't wait!!!!!!!!
5th July 2009

thank you Matthew for this year abroad. I have just LOVED your travel blog. You made me cry with the last entry. Safe trip home. we can't wait to see you. I'll have Mrs. I make some chocolate chip cookies for you.
24th July 2009

matthew ich hab nicht gewusst dass du AUCH ein blog schrieb!! aber dieses post ist echt zum weinen, und trotzdem so richtig! es ist leider vorbei aber du bist irgendwie richtig wenn du sagst dass die frendschaften dauern werden, of that i am sure too! :)

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb