Moving from the Czech Republic back to Austria!!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg » Salzburg
August 27th 2011
Published: August 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

August 27th- today was an early wakeup call morning for us. We were up at 5:30 and onto the subway around 6:30. We headed for the main train station in Prague. We found our train and tucked ourselves into our private cabin. This train was an older Czech train, but I was happy that the window in the cabin was able to open. I did hang my head and my camera out of the window for awhile taking some high speed shots. I believe my mom fed me some quaaludes this morning, as I couldn't keep my eyes open. I did figure out how to make the seat into a bed, so I was knocked out for a few hours. When we got to Cserk Basnock, we had to move up into the front of the train as it headed to /Linz, Austria. After Cserk, only three cars continued onto Linz. The second cabin, was the same and both Eileen and I knocked out. When we arrived in Linz, we hopped off the train and changed over to track 5 to pick our train to Salzberg. Our train arrived and we headed right for first class cabin and our jaws dropped when we saw the difference between the Czech first class and the Austrian First Class cabins. This cabin had leather seats, the air conditioning worked, and we were in the lap of luxury. This train was fairly short, only about 1.5 hours. I spent the time looking our the window at the beautiful countryside and working on the blog. Before we knew it, we were in Salzburg. We made our way to the Train station TI (tourist info) and got a map and the bus information we needed. We easily found our bus and got off at Mozartplatz. I should mention that the weather finally broke today, and it started raining shortly before we got into Salzburg. So when we got off our bus, we wandered in the rain looking for our hotel. We found our hotel and made it to our room. We are staying in a college dorm  type of place while their college is out for the summer. We were a little surprised to have a shared bath, as we specifically asked for private baths on this trip, but we are making the best of it. The rain dampened our spirits a bit, but we got ourselves to the grocery store and got a snack, while waiting for our restaurant recommendation to open at 5pm. Back in the room, our snack was delicious, and the quaalude hangover continued... as we both napped for a bit before dinner. WE ate at Monkey Bar, and had some local Austrian specialities. We both enjoyed our dinner and then headed out for a walk around town. Salzberg is beautiful and I got some great photos of the castle and little town as the sun was setting. We grabbed some takeaway dessert and headed back to our hotel. Our tv choice was only CNN in english or any number of US sitcoms, like How I met your mother or CSI, dubbed over in German. We watched the updates on Hurricane Irene and then went to bed fairly early to rest up for our Salzburg sightseeing tomorrow.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb