The sound of Salzburg


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg » Salzburg
November 15th 2009
Published: November 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

getting our vignette to Austria.
The holidays, I know I owe my friends a detailed report of it. Well... where to start from... I scribbled down some notes with Ricky when still on holidays so that it would be easier for me to remember everything... Ok, here we go!

Sunday 27th September. I was soon awake (it must have been 5.30am...I am always like this: if I have something important to be done and I set the alarm some early time in the morning I wake up at least 1 hour earlier than the already early time set... My silly mind can't help thinking the alarm won't go off and I won't wake up in time and miss whatever I have to do! So I always get up insanely early just to have plenty of time in my hands before actually leaving) and washed my hair, ate my breakfast, fed Rolly and walked him out for the morning pee and poo. At 8.40am Ricky was here, we stuffed everything in the car and left to AUSTRIA!!! I was so happy and couldn't help smiling and humming some happy tunes and I bet Ricky was in a very good mood because he let me hum as
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Schloss Mirabell.
long as I liked to... Ok, at some point he set the stereo on a high volume, but I am not sure he did that on purpose just to prevent my nasty humming to bother him...Did him?! We were very clever drivers and stopped only once in Italy (6 hours to reach the borders to Austria) for lunch. I behaved with a stoic attitude in front of all that culinary heaven I had in front of me at the bar and had the simplest tomatoes&mozzarella sandwhich ever. Ricky was surprised I think, but I was aware I would have given my best and try everything possible when away! LOL At about 3pm we were at the borders and stopped to get a vignette to Austria. Ricky suggested I bought some junk food to munch while driving. I couldn't resist some special edition white twix that I had never seen nor tried before and got some classic pringles for him. I was very disappointed with my sweet treat still and now know why they don't sell it here... At 5pm we finally spotted the hotel Vogelweiderhof in Salzburg! Hoooray!!! The room was nice and ... warm (we then found out it
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

Mirabell Garten
was not only warm but incredibly hot!). We were soon on the street again (this time with our backpacks) and caught a bus to downtown. The language gap was a cultural shock for the 2 of us. For the very first time in our lives we were visiting a country where we could get no idea of what people were saying and what street signs meant! On the first day I was even constantly forgetting the names of the streets and mistaking all of those names! And I usually am great at remembering directions! Anyway... We found out there was a small fun fair and some stalls in Residenzplatz. We still don't know if it was any holidays or whatever it was they were celebrating, but it was cool to be there! We got our first treat: a classic brezen and a beer (Ricky got this latter, I took a sip from him and my mouth gave a big twist!). Shops there close at 6pm and we soon didn't know what to do because we didn't want to start sightseeing at sunset and we still weren't that hungry to head to dinner. We walked round for some time and we
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

Mirabell Garten again.
looked at some restaurants chart just to find out that too many of them were too expensive for our wallets (we had to look for budget restaurants or all of our money would have gone on food). We finally found a place called Sternbrau where I had a yummy gulash with knodels! I was absolutely excited about the holidays at this point and already dreaming of the following day and the apfelstrudel with vanilla sauce I would have treated myself with! Travelling long hours wasn't a piece of cake and we were soon tired and sleepy, so we headed back to our hotel early in the night.

Monday 28th September. The morning couldn't have started better than it did! Our hotel was offering a huge (and I mean it!) breakfast: several kinds of bread (white, with fennel, with seeds, black...) ham, cheese, jams, butter, yoghurt, fruit (this one I did hardly notice...too healthy for a holiday breakfast!!!), coffee, milk, tea... Mmm... I told Ricky he'd better not to stop me and he didn't!!! LOL Being this our only full day in Salzburg we wanted to do the most of it and we soon left the hotel for sightseeing. First
Photo 6Photo 6Photo 6

Mirabell Garten again and again... it was stunning beautiful!
stop was Mirabellgarten where we hung around some time taking pics of everything (and I mean it literally). We then walked to the Altstadt where we took a tour of Franziskanerkirche. I got surprised they were Catholic in Austria, but Ricky made me realize it was silly of me to think that they were something else than that. I wonder why I think that people outside of Italy must be protestant or something else than Catholic. Anyway, the church itself was amazing and we took the chance to say our prayers there and I even had 2 candles lit, one for me and one for Ricky. Lunch time and we treated ourselves to the most tasty pizza brezen ever!!! Yum yum! I wanted to buy some Austrian cake for dessert but was so filled with the brezen that I went for an apple that they were selling at the market in Universitatplatz. Again we went sightseeing in downtown and we had to decide whether we liked to visit the Festung over the Mozart Museum... We went for the latter and I liked it ok, but think that Mozart was too much of a rude person and I would have hated him had I known him in person! I bought a pencil with Mozart on top of it for Ilaria who collects pencils and Ricky got a musical box for his cousin. At this point of the day we were done with most sightseeing (I had even suggested a bus tour but it was insanely expensive and we were sure it wasn't worth the price) and we decided to relax at Mirabellgarten. We again took some good shots and I even got all happy when spotted a playground with real Austrian moms and kids playing there! I love to see real people when travelling I feel like I am living the town the most, I don't know how to explain this bit, but when travelling I love the people as much as the things I get to see! The afternoon went by slowly I admitt it and I was a bit bored with Salzburg by 6pm. There's not much to do there and as lovely as it is the city itself we both agreed that one day long visit is fair and enough for Salzburg. We dined at the Wilder Mann's where I got again goulash (by now everyone must have
Photo 8Photo 8Photo 8

I love this one!
understood I love it!) and Ricky got a white sausage with sauerkrauts (that I don't like much). I had to eat my apfelstrudel and it was delicious!!! I couldn't help taking photos of food as well! (ehm, the apfelstrudel picture is missing... At that point I was so eager to eat it that I couldn't be bothered to take photos of it!).

More about the holidays next time... maybe in the afternoon if I have got the time.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

wurstel...we're in Austria folks!
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

my Austrian addiction ... brezen ... pizza brezen is my favourite!
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

Mozart...as great musician as he is, I didn't much like him...He was a know-it-all!
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

playground...never seen such a funny and amazing one before!
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

my favourite photo of the whole holidays...my one and only!
Photo 17Photo 17
Photo 17

Disney-like picture!
Photo 18Photo 18
Photo 18

goulash...I'm lovin' it!
Photo 19Photo 19
Photo 19

Ricky's dinner, white wurstel and sauerkraut...not my cup of tea.
Photo 20Photo 20
Photo 20

our comfy room in Salzburg...we took it in the morning when leaving.


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb