Ready for the Nurburgring


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg » Salzburg
July 8th 2009
Published: July 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

RocketmanRocketmanRocketman

Just a small taste of what was on offer at Hangar 7.
It's still raining in Salzburg - I'm beginning to wonder whether the sun has permanently shut up shop and shifted elsewhere. Hopefully it's Germany, as that's the next stop on my Europe itinerary tomorrow!

I've spent the last couple of days in at the Lechner Racing workshop as the cars have been prepared for the 800km journey into the Motherland. They're leaving in an hour or two; however myself and the rest of the team will be piling into the team minivan tomorrow morning.

The last two evenings I've caught up with Josh Hart - an old Formula Vee team mate and fellow Palmerstonian - whose also based near Salzburg where he is competing in the Euro Kart Rotax Challenge.

It's been great to see a mate from home, and leave the pigeon-English speaking patterns I’ve quickly adopted here in my room at the Steinbrau along with my luggage!

We visited three or four village/towns in the surrounding area, including Josh's own where he and his workshop are based, and sampled some famous local foods such as 'Weiner Schnitzel'.

We also went into Hangar 7 - Dietrich Mateschitz's personal Red Bull museum, near Salzburg airport. There
Walter's 962Walter's 962Walter's 962

The (lovingly restored) prize possession in the Lechner Racing workshop.
were private jets, upwards of 10 Red Bull F1 cars from throughout the years, MotoGP bikes, Air Race planes and all sorts of other wacky displays of projects the energy drink giant are involved in on display, and with free entry to the public. The 'Hangar' itself was the most magnificent piece of architecture I've ever seen - fitting for a company that seemingly has endless pockets full of gold doubloons.

I’ve also been flat out planning the remainder of my trip once I get to the UK on Monday, and continuing the sponsorship hunt both for Europe and at home in New Zealand. As is always the case, the season will roll around far too quickly and it would be easy to be too complacent...

Hopefully I’ll have access to the internet in Germany so I can keep you posted regularly throughout the rest of the week!

Remember, if you've missed an update, just click 'Previous Entry' at the top of this page.

Cheers.
Jono


Advertisement



10th July 2009

yo yo
good reading mate, keep it up. go well and wild
12th July 2009

Hey Jono, it's great reading the blog and I'm really excited for you- good on ya'. Travel safely and keep well, Adrian

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb