Villach, Austria and San Daniele, Italy


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Carinthia » Villach
March 28th 2014
Published: May 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

San DanieliSan DanieliSan Danieli

Proscuito
So, from Slovenia we drove to Austria. When we were going to Austria we went through a very LONG tunnel. And the start of that very long tunnel, my dad told me to hold my breath but I could not and I did not try. So we got to Austria I was very happy, do you know why? It was my 60th country and it was very pretty. Then we went to an outdoor restaurant which was very good. We ordered Schnitzel, Sausage, and after that we ordered Strudel(for me). Hey guess what? They all start with an 's'. My absolute favorite was the strudel because it had a side of whoop cream. (I know it is whipped cream, but I say whoop) LOL. Then we checked out a cool church and took a couple selfiies.

Then we drove back to Italy. It was an incredible drive. When we drove back to Italy I was so excited because first we went to this cool church, but that was not my favorite. My favorite was .....the prosciutto. It was awesome. How we ate it was that we got bread sticks and a whole platter of prosciutto. We wrapped the prosciutto around the bread stick. Then we drove back to Mara and Nicola's house.



Daddy's Comments:

After a few hours at Lake Bled it was time to leave Slovenia. What an incredible 48 hours - 2 caves, 2 castles, an island, and a day of skiing + more. About an hour drive and through one of the longest tunnels in the world, we arrived to Sofia's 60th country/territory! We went right to Villach. It was an incredible, sunny day in the high 70's so we headed to the pedestrian area and found a place to eat outside. We ended up splitting sausage, schnitzel, and of course, strudel. Definitely an Austrian meal. We walked around a bit and then it was time to take off and get back to Italy.

Well, with all the planning I normally do, I did a poor job with planning the car. Besides the issue at the airport, the car toll pass in Slovenia, I also did not realize we needed another toll pass sticker in Austria. At the border of Austria and Italy, I was pulled over and unlike the nice officer in Slovenia, this one made me pay a 120 Euro fee....wow a 170 buck ticket for not buying a pass for 4 hours......Austria became an expensive side trip......Oh well.

The drive from the border through the dolomites is breathtaking. Absolutely love that drive. We then found our way to San Daniele which is famous for its proscuitto. Most argue that the best prosciutto in Italy comes from Parma or San Daniele, and given we lived only 1 hour from the latter, that got my vote. The town is nice, on top of a hill and we stopped by the church before making our way to my favorite little Proscuitto restaurant. Sofia had a blast rolling the prosciutto around the bread sticks and we all 3 finished off the platter which I had to enjoy with a glass of Fruialano (previously Tocai)

Then it was a short drive back to Grizzo and we arrived just as planned at about 630pm at Mara and Nicolas. They were all glad to see us and we had a great time with them as per a previous blog.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

A KissA Kiss
A Kiss

San Danieli
ProscuittoProscuitto
Proscuitto

San Danieli


Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb