Windows of Klagenfurt


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Carinthia » Klagenfurt
September 13th 2012
Published: September 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

A day in the life...

For those of you who may not know, I moved to Austria to play volleyball. I still love the sport after four years of collegiate ball, and fortunately my body is still healthy enough to endure a few more swings, bruises and soreness. But I also came with the expectation to travel as much as possible within Europe and to emerse myself in a different culture.

I've spent most of my life in the developing world (Argentina and Brasil); I lived in New Mexico for the past four years, and am now enjoing seeing the world through the eyes of another developed country. I view this year of living and playing abroad as an opportunity to learn some more about myself. During my high school and college days I was always on the run - practice, homework, service projects, games, non stop, go, go, go. I loved that life. But I needed a break and I have found the perfect balance of exercise, work, and free time here.

So far the routine I have developed is... I wake up in the morning and go to gym to lift weights and "do fitness" as
Walking to townWalking to townWalking to town

I bought some chocolate covered strawberries for the brisk walk. Yuumm
they say here. (Hopefully I will wake up early enough tomorrow to make it to a yoga class.) Then I go to the city center and do some exploring (reading, picture taking, shoping for food and commodities for the apartment), then volleyball practice in the evening. Today was the first cold rainy day... I had to bust out the scarf and long pants.... (Winter is the only thing I am really dreading about living here)

Those of you who know me know I don't consider myself an artsy person. Since I have a little bit more free time now, I am taking on a photographic project. I love the windows in my town and I spent some time today capturing some of my favorites. I still have a lot more to photographing to do, but I see this project as an opportunity to get to know the city, while also getting to know myself a little better.

Hugs and kisses to friends and family. Thanks for following me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb