Saranda


Advertisement
Albania's flag
Europe » Albania » South » Sarandë
July 13th 2014
Published: August 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Saranda late yesterday evening, and I didn't have a place to stay. They dropped me off, and I found a guy with a sign, so went back to his hotel with him. It was ok so I decided to stay, though it was about 20 minutes walk out of town. And back from town was all uphill. Saranda is in the south and has some things I wanted to see, but I had been hoping for more from the actual town itself. It is a very tacky touristy beach resort, not really my kind of place. But it was ok. I went the next day one more time with the Norwegians to Butrint, a ruin I really wanted to see and the main reason for coming to Saranda. Really cool that they took me there too. We walked around separately, which was good but weird. We were never really together on this trip, even though we shared the car. I've never had "travel friends" that weren't really friendly, but still, it was lucky they took me with them, as it made several places more possible for me to visit than they would have been on my own. Another awkward thing was that I thought I would just give them gas money, but they charged me for part of the car rental too, which was strange, since I had no say over where the car went or when. But again, it made the trip easier, so it was ok. They also stopped at the Blue Eye Spring on our way to Saranda, and I had wanted to stop there also.


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.594s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 30; qc: 137; dbt: 0.2359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb