My Inner Child


Advertisement
Published: July 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

As I mentioned in a previous entry I’ve had
an interest in Cambodia for many years. I think it came from Angelina Jolie
adopting Maddox and me not knowing where the hell Cambodia was! So I looked it
up. I found that the more I read, the more connected I felt. Why? I have no
idea. I’ve been to Barbados, Spain, Cuba, Dubai and much more but for some
reason, I’m still being pulled to this country. This lonely little planet which
has endured hard core genocide, cold war, poverty, and a number of orphans
longer than Santas List! This country has a romantic and inequitable hold on
me.



One night I was lying in bed drifting off
to sleep and I had a…vision? Epiphany? Who the hell knows! I was sitting with a
bald headed monk or guru. He looked at me shocked and puzzled. He said, “Shavonne.
Why are you sitting with me? You are finally here! You are in Cambodia!”.<span> At that moment I fell through the floor and
landed on the grounds of Ta Prohm, Angkor (Angkor Wat). I got myself up, dusted
myself off and came face to face with a young black girl. She was about 10.
Dressed in leopard print make shift clothes. She had a hat on made of feathers
and the mane of a lion and she had a stick in her hand which had an Asian tiger
carved into the top. She looked at the tiger on her stick, looked at me again
and smiled. She then urged me to follow her, pulling at my hands and tugging at
my clothes and she was leading us towards one of the old tree roots. She
managed to slip through an entrance into the tree, I on the other hand hit the
tree face first…… then woke up.



Those who know me are aware that I am quite
a spiritual person. I believe in energies, signs and karma but I like to think
I’m also rational. So I can’t say whether or not this dream means anything. But
what I do know, I’d be an ass hole to ignore my own inner child! May as well
take the plunge…face first!



(For those of you who don’t know: "Angkor Wat is the largest Hindu temple complex in the world, situated at Angkor, Cambodia,
built in the early 12th century. As the best-preserved temple at the site, it
is the only one to have remained a significant religious centre since its
foundation. The temple is at the top of the high classical style of Khmer
architecture and unlike most Angkorian temples,
Angkor Wat is oriented to the west")

Advertisement



Tot: 0.59s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb