Mixed Feelings...


Advertisement
Published: June 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hola amigos, So I made it to Belize after my few days of interesting travels. The boat from Guatemala to Belize was beautiful because there were dolphins jumping around the boat and intense chain lightening over the coast of Belize. Punta Gorda was a cute little town from what I saw while I waited for the last bus I had to take. It seemed very poor, lots of bare feet and ragged clothes, but the people there were nice as I walked around. A few more hours on the bus up to Mango Creek, one more little walk, and finally one more boat ride over to Placencia and I was there. Five buses, three boats, and two borders in just over a day, oh yeah. I got stamps in my passport from three different countries all in the same day. I found my friend after a little searching and I could finally relax.

Belize has been confusing, Placencia was way too touristy for me, and way to expensive but I love Hopkins, it's the cutest little town. The Belizean people are so friendly, everyone says hi and good morning to you. Away from any touristy areas, the country seems quite poor. The food has been delicious, there is coconut in everything. However, today we are going to head to Guatemala but we'll probably have to spend the night in Punta Gorda to wait for a boat to Livingston. I miss Honduras and Nicaragua but I know I'll love Guatemala. I will only end up spending a few days in Belize, maybe I'm not giving it a chance but it is definately too expensive for me. I also had hot water for the first time in two months when I got to Placencia, that was weird.

The last two nights we have been staying at a luxury 100 dollar a night resort on the beach, for free of course. Dean's dad is friends with the owners. I just peeked at someones bill as I am using the computer and it was $2700!! I can't handle it here, I feel out of place and guilty about all these luxuries I really don't need. I just want to get back to cold water, uncomfortable beds, and cheap prices. We also have air conditioning in our room, which I have never had before. Our room is ridiculous, I could very comfortably live in it. There are pools, and hot tubs, and all your typical resort stuff. The diving here costs three times as much as on Utila so I am not going to do any. We have been eating all our meals in the nearby Hopkins village because the meals at the resort are super expensive, we have to bike into town, about 15min each way, because the resort charges 5 bucks a person each way for a ride! Crazy. But the bikes are these sweet old-school cruisers with one speed and pedal brakes. They're fun, we've been biking a lot. We also got in a good kayak early yesterday morning with the surprisingly free-to-use kayaks at the resort. I guess I shouldn't complain about staying here but I miss the rough stuff! It's all rich Americans here and I just don't like it, so off to Guatemala!!

Advertisement



10th June 2006

wow, the adventures!
My goodness it soudns lik eyou are having a fantiastic time! Maybe not in the rich part but in all the rest. It is crazy how you can get used to the friendliness and everything else of the poorer parts of countires and then actually prefer it! We are in a pretty well to do part of Cambridge, England, where houses are still much smaller than in Canada but you pay far more for rent. But when we're trying to find work we have to go where it is I guess. it's beautiful though, which an extra bed too...hinthint. I'd love ot be where you are too..one day! Check out our blog too at www.eric-mel.blogspot.com and have fun, as I know you will!
11th June 2006

Yeah Guatemala!
Hey muffin, yeah I've heard that Belize is outrageously expensive, it's probably good you're moving on when you are. I think Guatemala will be good, from the way my uncle describes it. It's good you're going with Dean because their political situation can be dicey sometimes. Anyway keep on enjoying the ride, say hi to Dean for me, and stay safe! Hasta Luego (not really sure if that means see you later...)

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb